Zarco Too Strong for Lowes in Argentina

Johann Zarco turned the tables on polesitter Sam Lowes to claim victory in a closely fought Argentine Grand Prix at Termas de Rio Hondo. Lowes had snatched pole position in the dying seconds of qualifying yesterday but Zarco showed his class on race day, passing the Briton ten laps from home and controlling the race from there.

With damp patches at several corners, conditions were tricky for the riders and early leader Jonas Folger found that out on lap three, sliding wide and letting Lowes through. The Federal Oil Gresini rider couldn’t break away from the German though and would soon come under pressure from Zarco with the Frenchman diving past Folger for second on lap eight, followed through by Franco Morbidelli.

The key overtake would come on lap thirteen with Zarco outbraking Lowes at the end of the back straight into turn five. The tight left-hander would prove problematic for Sam six laps later as he plotted a counter-attack, the no.22 catching a damp patch and overshooting the corner. No positions were lost, but any hope of a victory ended there.

Zarco would ultimately ease to victory by 1.3 seconds, setting the fastest lap of the race last time around, with Lowes and Folger completing the podium after a damp patch at turn one brought about Morbidelli’s demise. Alex Rins recovered from a poor qualifying to finish fourth ahead of Dominique Aegerter and Hafizh Syahrin while championship leader Thomas Luthi toiled his way to seventh.

Axel Pons was eighth while Takaaki Nakagami and Mattia Pasini rounded out the top ten.


Moto2 Gran Premio Motul de la Republica Argentina (Race Result)

15. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport40:57.80625
222. Sam LowesKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto2+1.34720
394. Jonas FolgerKalexDynavolt Intact GP+2.75416
440. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 40+6.10113
577. Dominique AegerterKalexCarXpert Interwetten+17.38411
655. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia+17.48410
712. Thomas LuthiKalexGarage Plus Interwetten+26.4119
849. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team+31.0168
930. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia+31.4037
1054. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team+31.8166
1123. Marcel SchrotterKalexAGR Team+32.3295
1219. Xavier SimeonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team+40.9684
137. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Team+47.8833
1497. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 3 Racing+56.0272
1539. Luis SalomKalexSAG Team+58.2781
1652. Danny KentKalexLeopard Racing+58.437
1714. Ratthapark WilairotKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia+58.615
1810. Luca MariniKalexForward Team+59.245
1960. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team+59.535
2024. Simone CorsiSpeed UpSpeed Up+59.878
2144. Miguel OliveiraKalexLeopard Racing+1:00.406
2270. Robin MulhauserKalexCarXpert Interwetten+1:09.254
232. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG+1:14.825
2432. Isaac VinalesTech 3Tech 3 Racing+1:16.792
2521. Franco MorbidelliKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS+1:41.530
268. Efren VazquezSuterJPMoto Malaysia+1 Lap
2733. Alessandro TonucciKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto2+1 Lap
NC11. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP+11 Laps
NC73. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS+22 Laps
NS57. Edgar PonsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 40Illness