Hayden Returns to Winning Ways at Sepang

by Louis Suddaby

Nicky Hayden claimed his first World Superbike victory and his first at any level for ten years with a masterful performance in wet conditions at Sepang. The American coped best with a sodden track in race two to see off Ducati’s Davide Giugliano while Jonathan Rea finished third to extend his championship lead.

The heavy downpour which delayed the World Supersport race left the riders with an extreme challenge on the resurfaced track but Hayden had no issues finding grip, scything around the outside of polesitter Tom Sykes at turn five before diving past Jonathan Rea into the penultimate corner to grab the lead, Rea having also passed his teammate.

By half distance, Hayden was over three seconds clear but the late threat was coming from the Ducati of Giugliano who, having passed Rea and Chaz Davies for second, began to catch the Honda at a second per lap. Once the danger became apparent via his pit-board, Nicky responded though and ultimately took the chequered flag a second ahead of the Italian.

With second spot, Giugliano matched his career best in WorldSBK while Rea got the better of Davies in the closing stages to take third, increasing his championship lead to 42 points. Wet-weather specialist Anthony West finished fifth ahead of Michael van der Mark and Alex De Angelis while Sykes’ struggles in the wet saw him slip all the way back to eighth.

WorldSBK 2016: Fassi Malaysian Round – Race Two Result

169. Nicky HaydenHondaHonda World Superbike Team37:04.04725
234. Davide GiuglianoDucatiAruba.it Racing – Ducati+1.25420
31. Jonathan ReaKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team+3.68416
47. Chaz DaviesDucatiAruba.it Racing – Ducati+5.72013
513. Anthony WestKawasakiPedercini Racing+15.98911
660. Michael van der MarkHondaHonda World Superbike Team+19.97910
715. Alex de AngelisApriliaIodaRacing Team+20.0289
866. Tom SykesKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team+23.0118
92. Leon CamierMV AgustaMV Agusta Reparto Corse+24.0457
1021. Markus ReiterbergerBMWAlthea BMW Racing Team+25.1396
1112. Xavi ForesDucatiBarni Racing Team+25.2085
1225. Josh BrookesBMWMilwaukee BMW+25.8354
1381. Jordi TorresBMWAlthea BMW Racing Team+26.7573
1432. Lorenzo SavadoriApriliaIodaRacing Team+30.7292
1516. Josh HookKawasakiGrillini Racing Team+1:05.3471
164. Gianluca VizzielloKawasakiTeam GoEleven+1:17.761
1799. Luca ScassaDucatiVFT Racing+1:18.121
18119. Pawel SzkopekYamahaTeam Toth+1:31.412
199. Dominic SchmitterKawasakiGrillini Racing Team+2:07.000
2011. Saeed Al SulaitiKawasakiPedercini Racing+2:08.836
2110. Imre TothYamahaTeam Toth+1 Lap
NC22. Alex LowesYamahaPata Yamaha Official WSBK Team+4 Laps
NC17. Karel AbrahamBMWMilwaukee BMW+16 Laps

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More