Rain Hands Luthi Pole Position at Assen

Thomas Luthi will start the Dutch TT from pole position after heavy rain effectively brought an early end to qualifying at Assen. The Swiss rider made the quickest start to the session and with the weather intervening midway through, Luthi was rewarded with pole ahead of reigning champion Johann Zarco.

The preceding MotoGP qualifying session was heavily affected by rain and conditions were far from perfect when the intermediate class began its battle for pole. Alex Marquez was among the bravest riders early on as he took provisional pole on his first run but as the circuit dried, the top of the leaderboard began to take on a more familiar look as Dominique Aegerter and Zarco traded fastest times.

With just over half an hour remaining, Luthi hit the front for the first time with a 1:37.954 although his benchmark time was still half a second shy of the quickest from practice. That wasn’t to matter though as the heavens duly opened, securing Luthi’s first pole of 2016.

Zarco had slipped to seventh at one point but the Frenchman bounced back up to second just as the rain arrived, knocking Aegerter down to third, while Sam Lowes lost his place on the front row as a result and will have to start fourth. Franco Morbidelli lines up fifth ahead of Takaaki Nakagami and Sandro Cortese while championship leader Alex Rins has work to do from eighth on the grid.

Jonas Folger completes the third row in ninth while Lorenzo Baldassarri rounds out the top ten.


Moto2 Motul TT Assen (Qualifying Classification)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
112. Thomas LuthiKalexGarage Plus Interwetten1:37.954
25. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport1:38.402
377. Dominique AegerterKalexCarXpert Interwetten1:38.449
422. Sam LowesKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto21:38.494
521. Franco MorbidelliKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:38.544
630. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia1:38.615
711. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP1:38.631
840. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:38.873
994. Jonas FolgerKalexDynavolt Intact GP1:39.076
107. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Team1:39.259
1144. Miguel OliveiraKalexLeopard Racing1:39.294
1254. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:39.322
1373. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:39.337
1419. Xavier SimeonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:39.432
1560. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:39.513
1624. Simone CorsiSpeed UpSpeed Up1:39.555
1723. Marcel SchrotterKalexAGR Team1:39.647
1852. Danny KentKalexLeopard Racing1:39.663
1949. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team1:39.778
2055. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia1:39.840
2110. Luca MariniKalexForward Team1:40.545
2270. Robin MulhauserKalexCarXpert Interwetten1:40.933
232. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG1:40.935
2432. Isaac VinalesTech 3Tech 3 Racing1:41.119
2597. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 3 Racing1:41.898
2687. Remy GardnerKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto21:42.629
2757. Edgar PonsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:44.229