Zarco Shows his Class to Beat Rins in Barcelona

Johann Zarco launched himself straight back into championship contention with a superb victory in the Catalunya Grand Prix. Racing under hugely difficult circumstances following the death of Luis Salom on Friday, the Moto2 riders coped admirably with Zarco producing a masterclass to see off the challenge of Alex Rins.

The tragic events of Friday practice had led to a revision of the circuit layout with the Formula 1 chicane now in place in the final sector. The slower configuration produced incident early on with Simone Corsi tripping over Lorenzo Baldassarri’s Forward Kalex after the younger Italian’s attempted overtaking move. The Speed Up rider was eliminated on the spot while Baldassarri rejoined at the tail of the field.

At the front, Rins held an early lead ahead of polesitter Zarco but the Frenchman appeared to be biding his time and so it proved. With seven laps remaining, the reigning champion made his sprint for the finish and after diving past the Paginas Amarillas rider, Johann was never troubled on his way to his second win in succession, a result he dedicated to his fallen colleague, Luis Salom.

The final podium position went to Team Asia’s Takaaki Nakagami although that result appeared unlikely early on, the Japanese rider falling to seventh on the second lap. His ascent up the order didn’t begin until lap ten when he overtook pre-race championship leader Sam Lowes for sixth before a blistering succession of laps culminated in a move on Thomas Luthi six laps from the finish, securing third spot.

Hafizh Syahrin continued his tremendous start to 2016 with fourth, overhauling Luthi late on, while Lowes toiled his away to sixth and handed over the championship lead to Rins. Jonas Folger salvaged seventh from a poor weekend while Miguel Oliveira took an excellent eighth ahead of Axel Pons and Marcel Schrotter.


Moto2 Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya (Race Result)

15. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport42:31.34725
240. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 40+4.18020
330. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia+9.31316
455. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia+10.77713
512. Thomas LuthiKalexGarage Plus Interwetten+10.96111
622. Sam LowesKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto2+13.00010
794. Jonas FolgerKalexDynavolt Intact GP+17.0469
844. Miguel OliveiraKalexLeopard Racing+20.6378
949. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team+20.6467
1023. Marcel SchrotterKalexAGR Team+23.1636
1121. Franco MorbidelliKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS+28.1455
1254. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team+28.3484
1360. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team+34.4823
147. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Team+37.5672
1587. Remy GardnerKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto2+42.9981
1632. Isaac VinalesTech 3Tech 3 Racing+44.632
1757. Edgar PonsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 40+48.536
1873. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS+51.046
1993. Ramdan RosliKalexPetronas AHM Malaysia+1:22.466
2097. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 3 Racing+1:25.462
2170. Robin MulhauserKalexCarXpert Interwetten+1 Lap
NC14. Ratthapark WilairotKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia+8 Laps
NC77. Dominique AegerterKalexCarXpert Interwetten+9 Laps
NC10. Luca MariniKalexForward Team+9 Laps
NC52. Danny KentKalexLeopard Racing+13 Laps
NC11. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP+18 Laps
NC24. Simone CorsiSpeed UpSpeed Up+21 Laps
NC19. Xavier SimeonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team+22 Laps