Global Rallycross

Dominant first day in DC for VARX

1 Mins read

Scott Speed took pole position for Red Bull Global Rallycross Washington DC, setting a time of 45.543 seconds around the 0.899 mile track at the RFK Stadium.

The reigning champion had a difficult time at Volkswagen‘s de facto home round last season, despite taking pole, and took top spot in qualifying again by a gap of almost two tenths of a second.

Chip Ganassi Racing‘s Steve Arpin was second, with Olsbergs Honda‘s Joni Wiman in third. Speed’s Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross team mate Tanner Foust was fourth, one spot ahead of pre-event favourite Patrik Sandell.

Brian Deegan was sixth, ahead of the other Honda of Sebastian Eriksson. Austin Dyne and the Subaru pairing of Sverre Isachsen and Bucky Lasek completed the top 10.

Last year’s Washington DC winner Nelson Piquet had a quiet return to the series, setting the 11th fastest time in qualifying. He was second fastest in final practice, however.

In the heats, VARX dominated with Speed and Foust both taking wins.

Speed beat 2014 series champion Wiman for the win in Heat 1A while Foust held off New River podium finisher Deegan for the Heat 1B win.

333 posts

About author
Dominik Wilde is a professional motorsport and motoring writer that has covered events in both the UK and USA. His main focus for the Checkered Flag is covering Americas Rallycross and Nitro Rallycross.
Related posts
Global RallycrossNASCAR Truck SeriesNASCAR Xfinity SeriesStadium SUPER Trucks

Xfinity, Truck Championship Rounds feature SST, X Games experience

6 Mins read
Of the 8 NASCAR Xfinity and Truck drivers fighting for championships this weekend, 3—Sheldon Creed, Zane Smith, and Brett Moffit—have driven a Stadium Super Truck. Creed and Xfinity regular season champ Austin Cindric have also won X Games off-road medals.
Americas Rallycross ChampionshipFMXGlobal RallycrossRallycross

More action sports stars have 'potential' to move into rallycross

3 Mins read
But spiralling costs could put a stop to any big moves
Americas Rallycross ChampionshipGlobal Rallycross

Rhys Millen wants US rallycross return on the right terms

1 Mins read
The motorsports legend is waiting to see how Americas Rallycross develops after its first season