GP2 Series

Dominant pole for Gasly and Prema in Hungary

1 Mins read
Pierre Gasly - Credit: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Series Media Service

Pierre Gasly continued his strong pace from free practice at the Hungaroring to secure yet another pole position and continue the positive momentum he has seen since taking his maiden GP2 Series victory at Silverstone two weeks ago.

In the time since his victory, the Frenchman spent two days testing at Silverstone for Red Bull Racing and then dominated practice on Friday morning, but was untouchable during qualifying in Hungary, with Gasly 0.570 seconds clear of the chasing pack.

Gasly will be joined on the front row by ART Grand Prix’s Sergey Sirotkin, but the Russian driver was nowhere near defeating the Frenchman for pole position, but he was comfortably clear of third placed Antonio Giovinazzi, who made it both of the Prema Racing drivers inside the top three with a lap 0.826 seconds shy of his team-mate.

Nobuharu Matsushita was fourth fastest for ART, ahead of Norman Nato of Racing Engineering, while Luca Ghiotto was a strong sixth for Trident ahead of Arthur Pic of Rapax, while Raffaele Marciello will start eighth for Russian Time.

Jordan King, the winner of the last two Sprint races at the Red Bull Ring and Silverstone, will start ninth in the second Racing Engineering entry, while Marvin Kirchhöfer will complete the top ten for Carlin.

After ending free practice in second, Alex Lynn would have been hoping for better than eleventh on the grid for DAMS, and he’ll be joined on the sixth row of the grid by team-mate Nicholas Latifi, while Gustav Malja of Rapax will start thirteenth ahead of Red Bull Ring Feature race winner Mitch Evans of Campos Racing.

Artem Markelov will also be disappointed with his qualifying performance, with the second Russian Time driver, and the winner of the Monaco Feature race earlier this season, down in fifteenth, with Spaniard Sergio Canamasas set to join him on row eight for Carlin.

Championship leader Oliver Rowland however will start seventeenth, alongside MP Motorsport team-mate Daniel de Jong after an extremely disappointing session for the team, while Sean Gelael, Jimmy Eriksson, Nabil Jeffri and Patrick Paz Armand complete the twenty-two car line-up.

Hungaroring Qualifying Result

[table id=1298 /]

13729 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
Formula 2GP2 Series

FIA announce GP2 re-branding as FIA Formula 2 Championship

1 Mins read
The FIA Formula 2 Championship has been born following the re-branding of the GP2 Series, starting with the 2017 season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

ART Grand Prix bring Albon into GP2 Series line-up

1 Mins read
Alexander Albon will make the jump from GP3 to GP2 in 2017, remaining with the ART Grand Prix squad he finished second with last season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

Ghiotto joins Markelov at Russian Time for 2017

1 Mins read
Luca Ghiotto will move from Trident to Russian Time in 2017, where he will join Artem Markelov.