Matt Parry powers to maiden GP3 Series victory

Philo Paz Armand (INA, Trident) 2016 GP3 Series Round 4 Hungaroring, Budapest, Hungary Saturday 23 July 2016 Photo: /GP3 Series Media Service ref: Digital Image _SLA7480

Starting from second on the grid, Koiranen GP‘s Matthew Parry made the start work for him to take the lead of the race ahead of Antonio Fuoco – with Jake Dennis completing the podium.

Having fired to pole position in the morning’s qualifying session ART Grand Prix‘s Nyck de Vries was looking to carry that over into the race. However, the Dutchman stalled at the start of the formation lap and was forced to start the race from the pit lane.

Not having to contend with de Vries in front meant that Parry had clear air to get away which the Brit made the most of, with Fuoco close behind in second. Charles Leclerc also made the start work for himself to move up to fourth but the Monegasque driver was forced to run wide, dropping him back down to sixth.

Out front, Parry had pulled a gap of 1.2 seconds over Fuoco on the opening lap with Dennis, Nirei Fukuzumi, Leclerc and Ralph Boschung completing the top six. Boschung, though did not want to hang and swiftly passed Leclerc.

Further down the field, DAMS rookie Jake Hughes was involved in a lap one incident that forced him into a pit-stop before carrying on.

Arden International‘s Jack Aitken was all over the rear of Arjun Maini for eighth place, desperately trying to claim the position and reverse grid pole for the Sprint Race. Ultimately, the Indian driver managed to hold on.

In the lead, Parry showed a controlled but strong pace over Fuoco, with Dennis also looking strong in third. Boschung was hoping to improve his position once again as he sized up Fukuzumi for P4 but in the end the Swiss driver had to settle for P5.

At the chequered flag, Parry took his maiden win in the category, Fuoco took to the rostrum once again and Dennis got to taste some well earned champagne. Fukuzumi, Boschung, Leclerc, Alexander Albon, Maini, Aitken and Kevin Jörg rounded off the points scoring places.

Hungaroring Race 1 Results

114Matthew ParryGBRKoiranen GP35m49.008
25Antonio FuocoITATrident35m52.291
39Jake DennisGBRArden International35m53.216
42Nirei FukuzumiJPNART Grand Prix35m54.883
517Ralph BoschungSUIKoiranen GP35m55.452
61Charles LeclercMONART Grand Prix35m58.770
73Alexander AlbonTHAART Grand Prix35m59.433
820Arjun MainiINDJenzer Motorsport36m02.785
911Jack AitkenGBRArden International36m03.234
1028Kevin JörgSUIDAMS 36m03.985
1122Alex PalouESPCampos Racing36m07.736
1216Matevos IsaakyanRUSKoiranen GP36m08.951
1319Richard Gonda SVKJenzer Motorsport36m09.328
146Artur JanoszPOLTrident36m09.922
1526Santino FerrucciUSADAMS 36m11.119
1624Konstantin TereschenkoRUSCampos Racing36m12.252
1718Akash NandyMASJenzer Motorsport36m12.798
188Sandy StuvikTHATrident36m14.673
197Giuliano AlesiFRATrident36m15.579
204Nyck de VriesNEDART Grand Prix36m15.893
2110Tatiana CalderonCOLArden International36m16.922
2223Steijn SchothorstNEDCampos Racing36m17.320
2327Jake HughesGBRDAMS 36m32.973