Scott Speed sweeps up in DC

Scott Speed took his second Red Bull Global Rallycross win of the season in Washington DC, leading the final from lights to flag.

The Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross driver added to his pole position and heat win yesterday, taking a further heat win, as well as a semi final victory.

Tanner Foust in the other Beetle also had a perfect lead up to the final, taking a second heat win and a semi final win en route to the final. His three heat/semi wins this weekend means that Foust has taken a record 19 wins so far this season.

The final saw Speed launch into an early lead from pre-race favourite Patrik Sandell and Brian Deegan with Foust not far behind.

Sandell closed right onto the tale of Speed but could not find a away pass. Further back, the Honda of Sebastian Eriksson slipped to the back of the field by virtue of a puncture.

The top two would remain in their positions until the end of the race, Speed leading Sandell home by 1.7 seconds. Behind them, Deegan and Foust were involved in a heated battle for the final podium spot.

Despite a spin for Foust, a dramatic save saw him hold onto fourth place and on the last lap he had closed right up to Deegan again. Foust eventually got by the Ganassi driver to make it a double podium finish for VARX.

Deegan held on for fourth with Joni Wiman completing the top five in the other Honda. Daytona race winner Steve Arpin was sixth, ahead of the returning Nelson Piquet and Austin Dyne. Bucky Lasek completed the runners in ninth while Eriksson’s puncture saw him make an early exit from the race.

Lasek’s Subaru team mate Sverre Isachsen failed to make it in the final, being knocked out in the Last Chance Qualifier.

In GRC Lites, Cabot Bigham took his first ever main event win, ahead of Oliver Eriksson.