Scott Speed takes pole for first Base race

Scott Speed took his second pole position in a row as Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross locked out the top two positions in qualifying for the first event of the weekend at MCAS New River in Jacksonville, North Carolina.

Speed’s time of 40.541 seconds beat team mate Tanner Foust by just over three tenths of a second, with Daytona I winner Steve Arpin in third to put the last two race winners in the top three.

The Olsbergs Honda duo of Joni Wiman and Sebastian Eriksson put in a strong showing to complete the top five, while Austin Dyne completed the fast six runners.

Dallas race winner Patrik Sandell was seventh, ahead of Jeff Ward and Brian Deegan, with the Subarus of Sverre Isachsen and Bucky Lasek rounding out the field on their return to the series.

Conner Martell took the GRC Lites pole ahead of Oliver Eriksson and Alex Keyes.