GP2 Series

Sirotkin denies Gasly to take Hockenheim pole

1 Mins read
Sergey Sirotkin - Credit: Octane Photographic Ltd

A great late lap by Sergey Sirotkin secured the Russian pole position for Saturday’s Feature race at the Hockenheimring, denying the on-form Pierre Gasly by just 0.016 seconds.

Sirotkin waited until three minutes from the end of the session to set his best time, with the ART Grand Prix driver looking to convert his third pole position of the year into his first Feature race victory of the season, to add to his first Sprint race victory that he secured a week ago in Hungary.

Gasly was looking good for his own third pole of the year only to see Sirotkin deny him, but the Prema Racing driver is still in a good position on the grid as he aims for his third consecutive Feature race victory after triumphs at both Silverstone and the Hungaroring.

Raffaele Marciello was third fastest for Russian Time, 0.176 seconds off the pace, but there was disappointment for Antonio Giovinazzi, with the Prema Racing driver having his times deleted after the undertray his car was found to contravene height regulations. The Italian had qualified fourth, but will now start at the back of the grid.

Oliver Rowland will therefore move up to fourth for MP Motorsport, just 0.220 seconds off the ultimate pace, and 0.009 seconds ahead of Alex Lynn of DAMS, while Norman Nato will start sixth for Racing Engineering.

Lynn’s and Nato’s respective team-mates Nicholas Latifi and Jordan King will start seventh and eighth respectively, with Marvin Kirchhöfer of Carlin and Artem Markelov of Russian Time completing the top ten.

Hockenheimring Feature Race Qualifying Result

[table id=1340 /]

12470 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
Formula 2GP2 Series

FIA announce GP2 re-branding as FIA Formula 2 Championship

1 Mins read
The FIA Formula 2 Championship has been born following the re-branding of the GP2 Series, starting with the 2017 season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

ART Grand Prix bring Albon into GP2 Series line-up

1 Mins read
Alexander Albon will make the jump from GP3 to GP2 in 2017, remaining with the ART Grand Prix squad he finished second with last season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

Ghiotto joins Markelov at Russian Time for 2017

1 Mins read
Luca Ghiotto will move from Trident to Russian Time in 2017, where he will join Artem Markelov.