In-Form Zarco Takes Austrian GP Pole

Johann Zarco is well placed to extend his Moto2 championship lead after taking a comfortable pole position at the Austrian Grand Prix in Spielberg. The Frenchman usurped Franco Morbidelli with ten minutes to go and was never challenged from that point onwards, the Marc VDS rider forced to settle for a career-best second on the grid.

As is so often the case, many riders set their fastest times in the early stages of qualifying with Morbidelli peaking on his fifth lap of the afternoon, clocking a 1:29.367. Zarco held second spot before venturing out for his penultimate run but the world champion soon changed that, knocking a tenth of a second off the Italian’s benchmark.

A further improvement of five thousandths on his last lap served to emphasise Zarco’s superiority with Morbidelli nailed in second after failing to beat his own early effort. Thomas Luthi, who tested a KTM MotoGP machine at the Red Bull Ring during the summer break, will start third while Marcel Schrotter produced a stunning last flyer to grab fourth from Alex Marquez.

Axel Pons completes the second row but both of Zarco’s championship rivals can be found on row three. Sam Lowes, another rider to test a MotoGP bike in Austria, will start seventh while Alex Rins is two spots further back in ninth after being demoted by Takaaki Nakagami in the dying seconds.


Moto2 NeroGiardini Motorrad Grand Prix von Osterreich (Qualifying Result)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
15. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport1:29.255
221. Franco MorbidelliKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:29.367
312. Thomas LuthiKalexGarage Plus Interwetten1:29.480
423. Marcel SchrotterKalexAGR Team1:29.645
573. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:29.702
649. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team1:29.702
722. Sam LowesKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto21:29.714
830. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia1:29.728
940. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:29.752
1094. Jonas FolgerKalexDynavolt Intact GP1:29.844
1177. Dominique AegerterKalexCarXpert Interwetten1:29.861
127. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Team1:29.926
1311. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP1:29.978
1457. Edgar PonsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:30.031
1552. Danny KentKalexLeopard Racing1:30.129
1655. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia1:30.264
1754. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:30.305
1844. Miguel OliveiraKalexLeopard Racing1:30.308
1910. Luca MariniKalexForward Team1:30.332
2060. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:30.400
2114. Ratthapark WilairotKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia1:30.438
2224. Simone CorsiSpeed UpSpeed Up1:30.622
2387. Remy GardnerKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto21:30.743
2419. Xavier SimeonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:30.762
2532. Isaac VinalesTech 3Tech 3 Racing1:30.775
262. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG1:30.870
2797. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 3 Racing1:30.878
2870. Robin MulhauserKalexCarXpert Interwetten1:30.884