Scott Speed holds on in Atlantic City

by Dominik Wilde

Scott Speed took his third consecutive event victory by winning in Atlantic City.

The reigning champion battled intensely with team mate Tanner Foust on the opening lap, trading the lead multiple times. It was Foust who got in front, as Speed and Steve Arpin settled in behind.

As Foust extended his lead, 2014 champion Joni Wiman and series newcomer Chris Atkinson dropped out of contention.

Foust’s lead was not to last, however, as a puncture saw him drop back and Speed move forward.

A dramatic final lap saw both Patrik Sandell and Brian Deegan move up into the podium spots as everyone else in the field hit trouble.

Speed added to his pole position, heat, and semi final wins to take the event win and championship lead. Sandell and Deegan were in second and third respectively. Arpin and Foust held on to complete the top five.

GRC Lites honours were taken by Alex Keyes who took his fourth career win and first of the 2016 season. Travis PeCoy and Colin Braun rounded out the podium.


Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More