Baldassarri Beats Rins for First Moto2 Win

Lorenzo Baldassarri claimed his maiden Grand Prix victory in dramatic fashion after seeing off Alex Rins in the closing stages of the San Marino GP at Misano. The Italian defeated the championship challenger in a head-to-head scrap to become Moto2’s seventh different winner of the season while Rins’ second place moved him to within three points of series leader Johann Zarco.

Baldassarri signalled his intentions from the start with an aggressive move on Zarco at turn three on the fourth lap and the reigning champion appeared to be knocked out of his rhythm as a pack of riders relegated him to seventh. Rins had ghosted through into the lead while the battle raged behind and with a lead approaching two seconds, the Spaniard looked set for victory.

Urged on by the home crowd, Baldassarri gave chase and with two laps to go, the Forward Racing rider dived up the inside of Rins into Quercia. Alex tried everything to strike back on the final lap but with Zarco struggling further back, the Spaniard was content to take the twenty points on offer for second, as Baldassarri took an emotional victory on the day his team paid tribute to the victims of the 9/11 tragedy fifteen years on.

Sam Lowes was in the thick of the action and looked in position to claim the final podium position before crashing out at turn fifteen. Takaaki Nakagami was the chief beneficiary, finishing third ahead of Zarco who recovered ground to beat Franco Morbidelli and Thomas Luthi to fourth.

Hafizh Syahrin finished seventh ahead of the Dynavolt teammates Jonas Folger and Sandro Cortese while Alex Marquez rounded out the top ten.


Moto2 GP TIM Di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini (Race Result)

17. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Team42:45.88525
240. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 40+2.52320
330. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia+6.19916
45. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport+8.94213
521. Franco MorbidelliKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS+10.01611
612. Thomas LuthiKalexGarage Plus Interwetten+11.09510
755. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia+13.0489
894. Jonas FolgerKalexDynavolt Intact GP+14.6048
911. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP+15.6477
1073. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS+20.7206
1123. Marcel SchrotterKalexAGR Team+22.1955
1297. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 3 Racing+33.6274
1310. Luca MariniKalexForward Team+40.1363
1414. Ratthapark WilairotKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia+41.7522
152. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG+42.5021
1654. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team+49.745
1744. Miguel OliveiraKalexLeopard Racing+1:02.022
1842. Federico FuligniKalexTeam Ciatti+1:03.931
1987. Remy GardnerKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto2+1:04.010
2070. Robin MulhauserKalexCarXpert Interwetten+1:07.383
2127. Iker LecuonaKalexCarXpert Interwetten+1:20.046
NC57. Edgar PonsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 40+3 Laps
NC60. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team+5 Laps
NC22. Sam LowesKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto2+14 Laps
NC52. Danny KentKalexLeopard Racing+19 Laps
NC32. Isaac VinalesTech 3Tech 3 Racing+23 Laps
NC24. Simone CorsiSpeed UpSpeed Up+25 Laps
NC49. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team+26 Laps
NC19. Xavier SimeonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team+26 Laps