Global RallycrossGRC Lites

Brian Deegan takes pole position in Seattle

1 Mins read

Brian Deegan has taken pole position for Red Bull Global Rallycross‘ return to Seattle.

The Chip Ganassi Racing driver lapped the course at Evergreen Speedway in 43.493 seconds, beating reigning champion Scott Speed by 0.073 seconds, ending the Volkswagen Andretti driver’s three-race pole streak.

Speed’s VARX team mate Tanner Foust was third, ahead of Steve Arpin in the other Ganassi-run Ford Fiesta, with Joni Wiman and Patrik Sandell competing the top six.

Subaru duo David Higgins and Chris Atkinson were seventh and eighth respectively, missing out on the second round of qualifying. Austin Dyne, Sebastian Eriksson, and Nelson Piquet Jr. completed the field.

In GRC Lites, DirtFish MotorsportsConner Martell topped the field, beating the returning Tanner Whitten by just over four tenths of a second.

Avatar photo
333 posts

About author
Dominik Wilde is a professional motorsport and motoring writer that has covered events in both the UK and USA. His main focus for the Checkered Flag is covering Americas Rallycross and Nitro Rallycross.
Related posts
Global RallycrossGRC LitesNASCAR Cup SeriesStadium SUPER TrucksX Games

Austin Cindric joins Robby Gordon as X Games medalists with NASCAR Cup wins

6 Mins read
What do Daytona 500 champ Austin Cindric and Robby Gordon have in common? They’re the only drivers with NASCAR Cup Series wins and X Games medals. Thanks to rallycross and Stadium Super Trucks, the NASCAR/X Games overlap is quite deep.
Global RallycrossNASCAR Truck SeriesNASCAR Xfinity SeriesStadium SUPER TrucksX Games

Xfinity, Truck Championship Rounds feature SST, X Games experience

6 Mins read
Of the 8 NASCAR Xfinity and Truck drivers fighting for championships this weekend, 3—Sheldon Creed, Zane Smith, and Brett Moffit—have driven a Stadium Super Truck. Creed and Xfinity regular season champ Austin Cindric have also won X Games off-road medals.
Americas Rallycross ChampionshipFMXGlobal RallycrossRallycross

More action sports stars have 'potential' to move into rallycross

3 Mins read
But spiralling costs could put a stop to any big moves