Pierre Gasly on top once again in Malaysian practice

by Chloe Hewitt

Red Bull protégé and GP2 Series leader Pierre Gasly topped the Free Practice at the Sepang International Circuit as the championship made its comeback at the Malaysian circuit. Gasly’s team mate Antonio Giovinazzi was second fastest with fellow Italian Raffaele Marciello completing the top three.

Nicholas Latifi set the early pace with a time of 1:44.381 but he did not remain in the top spot for long as Gasly went P1 – where he remained for the rest of the session – having lapped a 1:42.577. Giovinazzi also improved but it was not enough to better that of the Frenchman.

Despite it being a new track for many – with Mitch EvansDaniël de JongSergio Canamasas and Johnny Cecotto Jr being the only drivers in the field who were in the field when GP2 last visited – it was a trouble-free session as the drivers learnt the layout, Gasly had a slight moment after locking up and running off the track at Turn 9 but was able to rejoin safely.

Cecotto Jr is back in GP2 in place of Arthur Pic this weekend, with the usual Rapax driver suffering with an illness that forced his withdrawal, while Arden Motorsport are only running one car following Jimmy Eriksson‘s decision to end his rookie campaign with two rounds to go.

As the session ticked to an end, Giovinazzi found some extra pace to close the gap to his championship rival, ending up just 0.123 seconds off of the Frenchman.

As the chequered flag fell behind the Prema Racing pair came Marciello, Jordan KingNorman NatoOliver RowlandArtem MarkelovNobuharu MatsushitaLuca Ghiotto and Alex Lynn.

The drivers next take to track tomorrow for qualifying for the Feature Race at 15.55 local time.

Sepang International Circuit Practice Results

121Pierre GaslyFRAPrema Racing1m42.352
220Antonio GiovinazziITAPrema Racing1m42.475
39Raffaele MarcielloITARussian Time1m42.894
44Jordan KingGBRRacing Engineering1m42.896
53Norman NatoFRARacing Engineering1m42.933
622Oliver RowlandGBRMP Motorsport1m43.130
710Artem MarkelovRUSRussian Time1m43.135
81Nobuharu MatsushitaJPNART Grand Prix1m43.204
915Luca GhiottoITATrident1m43.212
105Alex LynnGBRDAMS 1m43.450
117Mitch EvansNZLPertamina Campos Racing1m43.578
122Sergy SirotkinRUSART Grand Prix1m43.857
1318Sergio CanamasasESPCarlin1m43.876
146Nicholas LatifiCANDAMS 1m43.928
1519Marvin KirchhöferGERCarlin1m44.161
1611Gustav MaljaSWERapax1m44.195
178Sean GelaelINAPertamina Campos Racing1m44.215
1824Nabil JeffriMASArden International1m44.232
1923Daniël de Jong NEDMP Motorsport1m44.381
2014Philo Paz Armand INATrident1m44.384
2112Johnny CecottoVENRapax1m44.687

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More