Zane Goddard takes win amongst last lap drama

Credit: Jakob Ebrey Photography

A third F4 British Championship win of the season for Zane Goddard came after the Australian powered through from fourth on the Silverstone grid. Various problems for the cars around him saw the Double R Racing driver take the flag by seven seconds.

It was another enticing start, as pole sitter Sennan Fielding failed to pull away from the competition. This left him vulnerable as Goddard, leapt to the front.

Around them, third place Billy Monger spun in the opening corners as championship leader Max Fewtrell followed him off in sympathy. Unfortunately for Monger his race ended early, though Fewtrell recovered to join in last.

This proved critical for the title battle as his nearest rivals broke away. Back at the front, Goddard led from Fielding and Luis Leeds as the three competitors broke away from the pack.

Jamie Caroline once again made another lightning start to fourth, but not for the first time this season, he fell back from the leaders holding up a large queue. This allowed his rivals behind the chance to squabble amongst themselves with James Pull and Devlin DeFrancesco weaving around each other in fifth.

There was drama on the final two laps as Leeds launched up the inside of Fielding. The JHR Developments driver hung on to his position though, edging his rival out. Leeds had subsequent issues and spent the final lap running at significantly less than full power.

He may have pulled out a 10 second gap to Caroline in fourth, but that was eradicated on the last circuit. Caroline couldn’t get clean through and both himself and Leeds dropped with half a mile to run. Goddard and Fielding may have finished first and second, but the final podium place was set to change.

This allowed DeFrancesco to take the third as Pull came home behind. Fifth eventually went to the third Carlin driver of Petru Florescu who will be disappointed not to have closed the gap on his rivals.

He was followed by the TRS Arden crew of Rafa Martins and Ayrton Simmons, who took the rookie win. Leeds would crawl home in eighth with a sickly machine. Fewtrell and Caroline would finish eleventh and twelfth respectively, ensuring neither scored points.