Zarco Bounces Back with Misano Moto2 Pole

Johann Zarco went some way to putting the disaster of Silverstone behind him with pole position at Misano. The defending champion outpaced the in-form Takaaki Nakagami to claim his fourth pole of 2016 while his title rivals Sam Lowes and Alex Rins qualified on the second and third rows respectively.

Not for the first time in a Moto2 qualifying session, the decisive action took place in the early stages of the session as Zarco embarked on a blistering opening run. Within ten minutes, the Frenchman had already clocked a 1:37.464 and although that would have been good enough for pole position, Zarco improved by 0.028s moments later to emphasise his superiority.

The closing minutes saw attention switch to the fight for the other front row spots and Lorenzo Baldassarri looked to have claimed second with a 1:37.558 but with a matter of seconds remaining, Nakagami rediscovered some of the pace which had seen him top all three practice sessions to snatch P2, just seven hundredths off Zarco’s time.

Their battle saw Sam Lowes demoted to the second row and the Briton showed signs of frustration late in the session, first punching his machine after an error on a potential pole lap before gesturing angrily at Mattia Pasini after being held up on his last attempt. The Gresini rider will still line up fourth though with Franco Morbidelli and Silverstone winner Thomas Luthi alongside on row two.

Sandro Cortese starts seventh ahead of Alex Rins who faces another day of damage limitation tomorrow while Pasini rounds off the third row despite his altercation with Lowes.


Moto2 GP TIM Di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini (Qualifying Result)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
15. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport1:37.436
230. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia1:37.509
37. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Team1:37.550
422. Sam LowesKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto21:37.777
521. Franco MorbidelliKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:37.861
612. Thomas LuthiKalexGarage Plus Interwetten1:37.916
711. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP1:37.933
840. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:37.935
954. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:37.990
1055. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia1:38.035
1194. Jonas FolgerKalexDynavolt Intact GP1:38.044
1273. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:38.051
1323. Marcel SchrotterKalexAGR Team1:38.105
1460. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:38.243
1552. Danny KentKalexLeopard Racing1:38.308
1649. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team1:38.339
1724. Simone CorsiSpeed UpSpeed Up1:38.345
1814. Ratthapark WilairotKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia1:38.655
1919. Xavier SimeonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team1:38.706
2057. Edgar PonsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 401:38.808
2110. Luca MariniKalexForward Team1:38.857
2244. Miguel OliveiraKalexLeopard Racing1:38.885
232. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG1:38.912
2427. Iker LecuonaKalexCarXpert Interwetten1:38.983
2597. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 3 Racing1:39.006
2632. Isaac VinalesTech 3Tech 3 Racing1:39.160
2742. Federico FuligniKalexTeam Ciatti1:39.240
2887. Remy GardnerKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto21:39.257
2970. Robin MulhauserKalexCarXpert Interwetten1:39.555