Chris Atkinson on pole for season finale

Chris Atkinson has taken a shock pole position for the final round of 2016 Red Bull Global Rallycross season.

Lapping the 0.699 mile course in the Port of LA in 42.594 seconds, Atkinson’s pole time was 1.2 seconds quicker than Scott Speed‘s table-topping effort for the first half of the double header event.

Championship leader Tanner Foust was second fastest, under two tenths of a second behind Atkinson, Steve Arpin was third, one spot ahead of yesterday’s winner Speed.

Patrik Sandell was fifth, ahead of Mitchell DeJong who completed the top six, continuing what has been a fine Supercars debut for the teenager.

Brian Deegan took seventh, ahead of Olsbergs Hondas Joni Wiman and Sebastian Eriksson.

Austin Dyne completed the top 10, with Tanner Whitten in 11th.

Subaru drivers David Higgins and Toshi Arai, who unlike Atkinson are driving an older specification of the team’s WRX STI, completed the field.

In Red Bull GRC Lites, ALex Keyes continued his domination in LA by taking pole position ahead of his Dreyer & Reinbold Racing team mate, championship contender Cabot Bigham.