Davies Continues Winning Run at Jerez

Chaz Davies continued his sensational run of form with victory in race one at Jerez as Tom Sykes made a small dent in Jonathan Rea’s championship lead. Davies dominated on his way to a fourth win in five races since the summer break while Sykes’ second place moved him to within 40 points of his teammate with three races to go.

Saturday had begun in a similar fashion to many in this 2016 season as Sykes claimed his eighth pole position in twelve rounds with Rea completing a Kawasaki 1-2 on the grid. Davies had struggled for single lap pace once again, leaving him sixth on the grid, but the Welshman soon emerged as a threat when the race got underway.

Within two laps, Chaz had forced himself between the two championship contenders, diving past Rea at the Angel Nieto corner, and Sykes was unable to put up much resistance either with the Ducati man outbraking him into the final bend on lap four, earning Davies a lead that he would maintain until the chequered flag.

Sykes comfortably held off Rea for second with the Kawasaki duo spared a battle with the other Aruba Ducati thanks to front-row qualifier Davide Giugliano’s crash on lap two. Alex Lowes also had eyes on the rostrum but a crash at turn five ended his race early, leaving the two Hondas to dispute fourth place, Nicky Hayden narrowly pipping Michael van der Mark in the end.

Sylvain Guintoli gave Yamaha some consolation with sixth ahead of Leon Camier while Althea BMW duo Jordi Torres and Markus Reiterberger finished eighth and ninth, edging out the Milwaukee BMW of Josh Brookes.


WorldSBK 2016: Gaerne Spanish Round – Race One Result

17. Chaz DaviesDucatiAruba.it Racing – Ducati34:08.16125
266. Tom SykesKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team+3.29020
31. Jonathan ReaKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team+7.15116
469. Nicky HaydenHondaHonda World Superbike Team+13.21213
560. Michael van der MarkHondaHonda World Superbike Team+13.25111
650. Sylvain GuintoliYamahaPata Yamaha Official WSBK Team+17.83410
72. Leon CamierMV AgustaMV Agusta Reparto Corse+20.9119
881. Jordi TorresBMWAlthea BMW Racing Team+26.1828
921. Markus ReiterbergerBMWAlthea BMW Racing Team+29.8377
1025. Josh BrookesBMWMilwaukee BMW+31.2466
1115. Alex de AngelisApriliaIodaRacing Team+32.3995
1240. Roman RamosKawasakiTeam GoEleven+33.0074
1332. Lorenzo SavadoriApriliaIodaRacing Team+36.2663
1413. Anthony WestKawasakiPedercini Racing+1:01.0642
1556. Peter SebestyenYamahaTeam Toth+1:07.9411
164. Gianluca VizzielloKawasakiGrillini Racing Team+1:08.160
179. Dominic SchmitterKawasakiGrillini Racing Team+1:08.260
1882. Karel PesekYamahaTeam Toth+1:38.143
NC94. Matthieu LussianaBMWTeam ASPI+14 Laps
NC22. Alex LowesYamahaPata Yamaha Official WSBK Team+18 Laps
NC12. Xavi ForesDucatiBarni Racing Team+19 Laps
NC34. Davide GiuglianoDucatiAruba.it Racing – Ducati+19 Laps
NC99. Luca ScassaDucatiVFT Racing+20 Laps
NC11. Saeed Al SulaitiKawasakiPedercini Racing+20 Laps