Davies Wins Dramatic Race One in France

Chaz Davies was rewarded for a brave tyre gamble on a drying track with victory in race one at Magny Cours. The Welshman was one of a select few riders start on an intermediate rear tyre and while others were forced into the pits for a mid-race change, Davies eased past for his sixth win of 2016 ahead of Michael van der Mark.

The unpredictable weather had already played a key role in Superpole as Jonathan Rea claimed a rare pole position ahead of Tom Sykes and with the two Kawasaki riders opting for full wets on the grid, the KRT team-mates quickly left Davies trailing. The big shock came in the form of Leon Camier though as the MV Agusta man, also on wets, joined the championship contenders in the leading group before overtaking both for the lead on lap nine.

With Camier getting away, both Kawasaki riders saw that as their cue to come in for slicks but by the time Sykes and Rea had rejoined, they had fallen to ninth and tenth. Davies, now up to speed on his intermediate rear tyre, had ghosted through to third with only Camier and Lorenzo Savadori ahead of him lapping several seconds per lap slower on wets.

Savadori briefly led a World Superbike race for the first time when he scythed past Camier on lap fifteen but his joy was short-lived as Davies motored past a lap later. Any dreams of a maiden podium for the Italian would also be dashed with three laps to go as van der Mark, the first leading rider to pit, surged past Camier and the Aprilia with ease to take second.

Davies was way out of range for the Dutchman as the Ducati rider claimed victory but a fast-finishing Sykes came agonisingly close to snatching second on the line. The Yorkshireman salvaged third in the end ahead of Rea with Savadori falling to fifth on the last lap. French wildcard Matthieu Lagrive produced a sensational display on wets to take sixth while Camier slipped to seventh, just ahead of Xavi Fores and home favourite Sylvain Guintoli.


WorldSBK 2016: Fassi French Round – Race One Result

17. Chaz DaviesDucatiAruba.it Racing – Ducati38:51.93225
260. Michael van der MarkHondaHonda World Superbike Team+9.87120
366. Tom SykesKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team+10.21816
41. Jonathan ReaKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team+18.03113
532. Lorenzo SavadoriApriliaIodaRacing Team+19.97411
676. Matthieu LagriveKawasakiPedercini Racing+24.66110
72. Leon CamierMV AgustaMV Agusta Reparto Corse+25.7439
812. Xavi ForesDucatiBarni Racing Team+27.4098
950. Sylvain GuintoliYamahaPata Yamaha Official WSBK Team+49.4557
1015. Alex de AngelisApriliaIodaRacing Team+52.5706
1122. Alex LowesYamahaPata Yamaha Official WSBK Team+52.7885
1225. Josh BrookesBMWMilwaukee BMW+53.9474
1340. Roman RamosKawasakiTeam GoEleven+54.9293
1481. Jordi TorresBMWAlthea BMW Racing Team+1:22.2802
1599. Luca ScassaDucatiVFT Racing+1:27.3831
1617. Karel AbrahamBMWMilwaukee BMW+1 Lap
1721. Markus ReiterbergerBMWAlthea BMW Racing Team+1 Lap
1811. Saeed Al SulaitiKawasakiPedercini Racing+1 Lap
1956. Peter SebestyenYamahaTeam Toth+1 Lap
2094. Matthieu LussianaBMWTeam ASPI+1 Lap
214. Gianluca VizzielloKawasakiGrillini Racing Team+1 Lap
2257. Alex PlancassagneYamaha3ART+2 Laps
NC24. Imre TothYamahaTeam Toth+3 Laps
NC69. Nicky HaydenHondaHonda World Superbike Team+12 Laps
NC9. Dominic SchmitterKawasakiGrillini Racing Team+13 Laps
NS34. Davide GiuglianoDucatiAruba.it Racing – DucatiInjured