Phil House Cements Race and 2016 Title After Brands Stormer

Credit: Nick Smith/

Phil House took the race win and thus the championship in the final VW Racing Cup round of the year. He took the lead early on and never looked back as he beat his championship rival Tom Witts to the flag.

Going into the final race of the year, House led by 18 points over rival Witts, meaning only a disaster from House could prevent him from claiming the honours.

A dramatic start in the final race of the season, saw a number of cars retire in the opening lap. Darelle Wilson and Jess Hawkins both came to blows and were forced out of the race. Elsewhere, Mark Smith also sustained damage.

Jaime Bond had made the best start and had initially broken away from the pack. Though it would all go wrong for the race one winner on lap four as his car ran into problems and fell back. He eventually retired ending a topsy-turvy weekend.

All of this promoted House to the lead as he was joined at the front by Witts. He made his way past Simon Rudd just the lap before, after a spectacular overtake on the outside of Druids.

Witts set a number of fastest laps, but it seemed futile as the Maximum Motorsport driver failed to close the gap on his championship rival. Behind them, Toby Davis continued his climb up the order with Rudd being demoted to fifth.

A queue for third soon formed as Davis held off, not just Rudd, but also Kieran Gordon and the recently demoted championship contenders; Kenan Dole and Bobby Thompson.

To the frustration of the Golf driver, Rudd missed a gear on the exit of the final complex dropping him to the back of the train. He was soon back up to speed, but had fallen to seventh.

Rudd’s demotion promoted Davis and gave fourth place Gordon an opportunity to snatch the final podium. He made the move on the final lap, but was forced onto the outside line, seeing him settle for fourth in the final race.

As for House, he was under no such pressure. Despite his rivals best attempt to close him down, nothing could stop the new 2016 VW Racing Cup Champion. Witts will be disappointed to settle for second as Davis, Gordon and Dole rounded out the top five. Rudd would recover to sixth with Thompson and Paul Taylor completing the top eight.