Scott Speed on pole for first day of championship showdown

by Dominik Wilde

Scott Speed has claimed pole position for the first half of the championship deciding Red Bull Global Rallycross event in Los Angeles.

The reigning series champion lapped the 0.699 mile circuit in 43.816 seconds, beating 2014 champion Joni Wiman to pole by 0.206 seconds.

Brian Deegan was third, ahead of championship leader Tanner FOust who had to deal with engine gremlins prior to qualifying.

Sebastian Eriksson in the second Honda was fifth, with championship outsider Patrik Sandell rounding out the top six.

Chris Atkinson put in another strong performance for Subaru, setting the seventh fastest time. He was one spot ahead of Steve Arpin who was the only championship contender to miss out on the top six shootout.

David Higgins was ninth, ahead of Mitchell DeJong, who is making his first Red Bull GRC start in two years and his first career start in Supercars.

Austin Dyne took 11th, with series débutantes Tanner Whitten and Toshi Arai completing the field.

In GRC Lites, Alex Keyes took pole position ahead of his championship-contending Dreyer & Reinbold Racing team mate Cabot Bigham.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More