Second win of the season for Jake Dennis

2016 GP3 Series Round 8 Sepang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Sunday 2 October 2016. Jake Dennis (GBR, Arden International) leads Antonio Fuoco (ITA, Trident) Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP3 Series Media Service. ref: Digital Image _SLA4617

Starting from third on the grid Arden International‘s Jake Dennis took full advantage of the battle going on between front row sitters Antonio Fuoco and Nirei Fukuzumi to dive up the inside of the pair to claim the lead.

The Arden driver kept his composure to romp away into the lead to take victory by three seconds to take his second win of the year. Fukuzumi came home in second place with Jack Aitken completing the podium.

From pole position, Ferrari Driver Academy‘s Fuoco maintained the lead from Fukuzumi – with the pair going wheel to wheel into Turn 1. However, the pair out-braked themselves, running wide and allowed Dennis the opportunity to head into the lead. The opening lap did not get much better for Fuoco who ran wide over one of the kerbs and lost two more positions.

Title rivals and ART team-mates Charles Leclerc and Alexander Albon battled it out at the start, at one point running side-by-side with the Thai driver taking to the grass. Albon dropped to P11 while the Monegasque driver found himself in P7.

On lap two, Aitken passed Fuoco for third place as Dennis began to pull away out front.

Leclerc and Fuoco soon found themselves embroiled in a fierce battle for fifth place with the Series leader making the move on his fellow FDA protege. It was a race to forget for Fuoco who pitted for new tyres several laps later but eventually he retired.

Out front, Aitken began to put pressure on Fukuzumi, as behind Leclerc slowly began to reel in Koiranen GP‘s Matthew Parry for fourth. Albon, keen to not lose too much ground on Leclerc in the championship passed Alessio Lorandi  for ninth before then overtaking Campos Racing‘s Steijn Schothorst for the final point on offer.

As the chequered flag dropped Dennis took his second win of the season, moving him up to fourth in the drivers’ standings. Fukuzumi held onto second with Aitken in third. Parry held off the pressure from Leclerc to take fourth with Nyck de VriesArjun Maini and Albon rounding off the top eight.

The GP3 Series returns to track action on November 25-26-27 for the final round of the season at the Yas Marina Circuit. The title battle is going down to the wire but it is Leclerc who is in prime position on 202 points, while Albon and Fuoco are on 173 and 157 respectively.

Sepang International Circuit Race 2 Results

19Jake Dennis GBRArden International26m21.781
22Nirei FukuzumiJPNART Grand Prix26m25.237
311Jack AitkenGBRArden International26m27.469
414Matthew ParryGBRKoiranen GP26m30.566
51Charles LeclercMONART Grand Prix26m30.921
64Nyck de VriesNEDART Grand Prix26m31.763
720Arjun MainiINDJenzer Motorsport26m32.734
83Alexander AlbonTHAART Grand Prix26m39.867
919Alessio LorandiITAJenzer Motorsport26m42.157
1023Steijn SchothorstNEDCampos Racing26m43.804
1128Kevin JörgSUIDAMS26m44.229
1227Jake HughesGBRDAMS26m45.010
137Giuliano AlesiFRATrident26m47.348
1416Matevos IsaakyanRUSKoiranen GP26m49.017
1510Tatiana CalderonCOLArden International26m49.667
166Artur Janosz POLTrident26m51.789
1724Konstantin TereschenkoRUSCampos Racing26m51.998
1818Akash NandyMASJenzer Motorsport26m52.387
1922Alex PalouESPCampos Racing27m10.100
208Sandy StuvikTHATrident27m28.891
215Antonio FuocoITATrident21m52.037
2226Santino FerrucciUSADAMS7m53.701