Westbourne Joins Clio Cup Junior Ranks For 2017

Experienced tin-top outfit Westbourne Motorsport have announced their ambitions to enter a multi-car team into the new-for-2017 Renault UK Clio Cup Junior championship.

The Sussex-based outfit join fellow Clio Cup heavyweights like Team Pyro, WDE Motorsport and Ciceley Motorsport in announcing entries for the new series for 14 to 17 year old racers.

Westbourne competed in the BTCC-supporting Renault UK Clio Cup between 2009 and 2014, running the likes of Ant Whorton-Eales, Jordan Stilp and James Colburn during their tenure.

The team have also been a mainstay in the Michelin Clio Cup Series since its introduction in 2013, winning back-to-back drivers titles with Luke Herbert and James Dorlin in the last two seasons.

Alongside that, the team have also been tackling teenage racing in the Junior Saloon Car Championship (formerly Saxmax), provisionally winning this year’s title with Matteo Zanetti.

Westbourne will be running four drivers at the upcoming series ‘sampler day’ at Blyton Park, with team principal Richard Colburn “confident that will translate into at least three signings.”

He added: “Clio Cup Junior makes perfect sense for the UK junior racing marketplace. The cars are completely robust and are identical which is so important, particularly for the junior driver.

“It is also a fresh car with new technology and this is also bound to have massive appeal for the younger generation.”