Zarco Claims Critical Motegi Pole Position

1 Mins read

Johann Zarco looks set to wrestle back control of the Moto2 championship battle after taking pole position for the Japanese Grand Prix at Motegi. The defending champion has struggled for form since the summer break but looked much more like his usual self in qualifying in Japan as he saw off Thomas Luthi for his fifth pole of 2016.

Zarco leads Alex Rins by one point heading into Sunday’s race but the Spaniard has put his title hopes in jeopardy after a crash in FP2 yesterday. The Paginas Amarillas rider lost control at the Victory corner and has been suffering with a shoulder injury ever since. The pain proved too much for Rins in qualifying as he could only qualify 22nd.

His title rival enjoyed a much smoother session, clocking the fastest ever lap of Motegi on a Moto2 machine with two minutes remaining. Zarco will line up ahead of Luthi and both riders appear to be the class of the field in terms of race pace, setting the stage for a fascinating race between the two.

Franco Morbidelli starts from the outside of the front row with Aragon winner Sam Lowes fourth on the grid as he looks to close the 40 point gap between himself and Zarco. Sandro Cortese lines up fifth ahead of Axel Pons while home favourite Takaaki Nakagami will go for glory from the front of the third row in seventh.

Alex Marquez is eighth on the grid as he aims to build on his maiden podium at Aragon while Jonas Folger and Mattia Pasini round out the top ten.


Moto2 Motul Grand Prix of Japan (Qualifying Result)

[table id=1597 /]

5101 posts

About author
MotoGP, Moto2, Moto3 and WorldSBK writer for The Checkered Flag. Contact: [email protected]
Related posts

MotoGP: Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta updates on 2020

3 Mins read
Dorna CEO updates on 2020: we’re trying to maintain the races, which is the most important thing.

MotoGP: German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix cancelled

1 Mins read
The German, Dutch and Finnish Grand Prix are cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Sam Lowes - Every day I feel stronger

2 Mins read
Marc VDS rider Sam Lowes gives the lowdown on his current day-to-day life as he recovers from his shoulder injury under lockdown from Coronavirus.