Zarco Two Seconds Clear in Sepang Qualifying

Johann Zarco put himself in position to wrap up his second Moto2 championship after taking a stunning pole position for the Malaysian Grand Prix. The Frenchman was in scintillating form, claiming pole by over two seconds from Franco Morbidelli on a drying track while title rivals Thomas Luthi and Alex Rins qualified fifth and 23rd respectively.

With the rain that had fallen prior to MotoGP qualifying now a thing of the past, conditions gradually improved as the session unfolded but the one constant was Zarco who figured at the top of the leaderboard throughout. At the halfway stage, the Ajo rider had lowered the benchmark to a 2:22.880 and although Jonas Folger usurped him shortly afterwards, Johann’s response was emphatic.

Once his next run was completed, Zarco was back on top with a 2:21.084 but conditions were just on the tipping point between wet and dry tyres. Morbidelli didn’t take the gamble on slicks but the Marc VDS rider still had enough grip from his wet rubber to go fastest, two tenths up on Zarco, but the defending champion produced an astonishing final run to finish the afternoon a full two seconds clear of anybody else.

Axel Pons left it late to grab third ahead of Folger while Luthi, who looked set to secure a front row spot late on, fell to fifth ahead of Lorenzo Baldassarri who took a punt on a rear slick in the dying seconds. Xavier Simeon will start seventh ahead of Mattia Pasini and the impressive Remy Gardner while Simone Corsi completed the top ten on the Speed Up.


Moto2 Shell Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix (Qualifying Result)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
15. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport2:18.621
221. Franco MorbidelliKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS2:20.755
349. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team2:21.383
494. Jonas FolgerKalexDynavolt Intact GP2:21.559
512. Thomas LuthiKalexGarage Plus Interwetten2:21.775
67. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Team2:21.836
719. Xavier SimeonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team2:21.941
854. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team2:22.029
987. Remy GardnerKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto22:22.070
1024. Simone CorsiSpeed UpSpeed Up2:22.107
1110. Luca MariniKalexForward Team2:22.556
1293. Ramdan RosliKalexPetronas AHM Malaysia2:22.697
1322. Sam LowesKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto22:23.187
1455. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia2:23.213
1511. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP2:23.387
1620. Alessandro NoccoKalexLeopard Racing2:23.629
1727. Iker LecuonaKalexCarXpert Interwetten2:23.677
1857. Edgar PonsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 402:23.785
1932. Isaac VinalesTech 3Tech 3 Racing2:23.913
2030. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia2:23.935
2173. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS2:24.145
2223. Marcel SchrotterKalexAGR Team2:24.274
2340. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 402:24.370
2452. Danny KentKalexLeopard Racing2:24.542
2597. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 3 Racing2:24.639
2614. Ratthapark WilairotKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia2:24.793
272. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG2:25.030
2870. Robin MulhauserKalexCarXpert Interwetten2:25.611
NQ60. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing TeamNo Time