Championship contender Albon on top in Abu Dhabi practice

Alexander Albon - Credit: Octane Photographic Ltd

ART Grand Prix‘s Alexander Albon claimed the top spot in the final practice session of the 2016 GP3 Series, ahead of fellow title rival Antonio Fuoco and series leader Charles Leclerc.

After a seven week break from track action the GP3 season finale got underway at Abu Dhabi with much still to play for. The early pace was set by Arden International‘s Tatiana  Calderon from Giuliano Alesi before Jake Dennis took over the top spot. The Briton bettered his time before being joined by ART men Nyck de Vries and Leclerc.

After the driver’s returned to the pitlane for some fresh rubber the times came in thick and fast.

Jack Aitken found some extra pace to go to the top of the timing screens, but as the times continued to tumble Albon shot back up clocking a time one tenth faster than the Arden driver. DAMS‘ Santino Ferrucci led the pack for a brief time before Leclerc bettered it to take P1.

It swiftly became a battle of the title contenders with Albon reclaiming the top of the timesheet, and also becoming the only driver to break into the 1m56s bracket. Fuoco set the fastest time in sector one on his way to being second fastest.

At the chequered flag Albon remained in the top spot ahead of Fuoco and Leclerc. Completing the top ten were: Ferrucci, De Vries, Nirei Fukuzumi, Alesi, Alex PalouJake Hughes and Artur Janosz.

Yas Marina Circuit Qualifying Results

13Alexander AlbonTHAART Grand Prix1m56.885
25Antonio FuocoITATrident1m57.022
31Charles LeclercMONART Grand Prix1m57.046
426Santino FerrucciUSADAMS 1m57.180
54Nyck de VriesNEDART Grand Prix1m57.226
62Nirei FukuzumiJPNART Grand Prix1m57.439
77Giuliano AlesiFRATrident1m57.490
822Alex PalouESPCampos Racing1m57.601
927Jake HughesGBRDAMS 1m57.653
106Artur JanoszPOLTrident1m57.850
118Sandy StuvikTHATrident1m57.901
1210Tatiana Calderon COLArden International1m58.344
1316Matevos IsaakyanRUSKoiranen GP1m58.383
1414Alex PalouESPKoiranen GP1m59.004
1511Matthew ParryGBRArden International1m59.531
1620Jack AitkenGBRJenzer Motorsport1m59.541
179Arjun MainiINDArden International1m59.721
1819Jake DennisGBRJenzer Motorsport1m59.909
1923Steijn Schothorst NEDCampos Racing2m00.052
2018Akash NandyMASJenzer Motorsport2m00.468
2128Kevin JörgSUIDAMS 2m00.525
2224Konstantin TereschenkoRUSCampos Racing2m01.795