Zarco Bows Out of Moto2 with Valencia Win

Johann Zarco signed off in the intermediate class with another superb victory in his final Moto2 appearance at Valencia. The two-time champion proved too strong for Franco Morbidelli after an explosive mid-race battle while Thomas Luthi deprived the Italian of second place on the final lap, ensuring he will end the year as championship runner-up.

The battle for second in the championship was the main issue to be decided in the season finale and Alex Rins made an early bid, grabbing the lead on lap three. The Spaniard was soon shuffled to the back of the leading quartet as Zarco, Morbidelli and Luthi got up to speed, setting the stage for the frenetic fight out front.

Morbidelli lit the blue touch paper with a dive up the inside of Zarco on lap ten, passing into turn two, but the champion responded immediately at the next corner, before countering a second move later in the lap to retain the lead. The Italian finally muscled the Ajo rider aside on lap twelve but Zarco had chosen to take a more patient approach and when Johann upped the pace again on lap sixteen, Franco had nothing by way of reply this time.

Zarco duly eased away to his seventh win of 2016 but Morbidelli lost his grip on second place agonisingly close to the finish as his tyres cried enough. With three corners remaining, Luthi cruised past to rubberstamp his runner-up status in the championship. Rins also lost ground on the final lap with Sam Lowes depriving him of fourth within sight of the flag.

Takaaki Nakagami finished a lonely sixth ahead of Mattia Pasini and Jonas Folger while Danny Kent produced his best showing since the season opener in Qatar to take ninth ahead of Marcel Schrotter.


Moto2 Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana (Race Result)

15. Johann ZarcoKalexAjo Motorsport43:17.62625
212. Thomas LuthiKalexGarage Plus Interwetten+3.28120
321. Franco MorbidelliKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS+4.98116
422. Sam LowesKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto2+5.63613
540. Alex RinsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 40+5.85011
630. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia+11.60510
754. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team+16.3919
894. Jonas FolgerKalexDynavolt Intact GP+16.9648
952. Danny KentKalexLeopard Racing+17.4517
1023. Marcel SchrotterKalexAGR Team+17.6686
1124. Simone CorsiSpeed UpSpeed Up+20.4555
1297. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 3 Racing+20.9114
1344. Miguel OliveiraKalexLeopard Racing+21.6503
147. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Team+22.5812
1555. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia+23.7341
1619. Xavier SimeonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team+26.328
172. Jesko RaffinKalexsports-millions-EMWE-SAG+29.421
1887. Remy GardnerKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto2+29.667
1957. Edgar PonsKalexPaginas Amarillas HP 40+29.749
2014. Ratthapark WilairotKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia+39.289
2170. Robin MulhauserKalexCarXpert Interwetten+43.105
2210. Luca MariniKalexForward Team+43.532
2360. Julian SimonSpeed UpQMMF Racing Team+51.271
2427. Iker LecuonaKalexCarXpert Interwetten+56.617
NC73. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS+10 Laps
NC32. Isaac VinalesTech 3Tech 3 Racing+17 Laps
NC42. Federico FuligniKalexTeam Ciatti+22 Laps
NC11. Sandro CorteseKalexDynavolt Intact GP+23 Laps
NC49. Axel PonsKalexAGR Team+23 Laps
NC16. Hugo ClereTransfiormersPromoto Sport+23 Laps