GP2 Series

Latifi ends post-season GP2 test on top

1 Mins read
Nicholas Latifi - Credit: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Series Media Service

The GP2 Series year came to a conclusion with a three-day test at the Yas Marina Circuit, with Raffaele Marciello, Alexander Albon and Nicholas Latifi sharing out the fastest times.

Marciello reunited with the Trident team he raced in the championship back in 2015 for the first two days, and set the pace with a time of 1:48.937, ahead of Nobuharu Matsushita, who continued to run for ART Grand Prix, at least on the opening day.

Oliver Rowland, who raced for MP Motorsport during 2016, switched over to DAMS for all three days of the test, and ended up third quickest on day one ahead of team-mate Latifi, who remained with DAMS for the test having also raced for them this year.

Johnny Cecotto Jr, the most experienced man in GP2 history, continued his partnership with Rapax and set the fifth fastest time on day one, just ahead of 2016 GP3 Series champion Charles Leclerc of Prema Racing, the leading rookie in the field.

Albon hit the top on day two for ART Grand Prix as he looks to step up from GP3 in 2017 as well, with his time of 1:49.062 enough to deny Marciello top spot for a second day by just 0.024 seconds.

Jordan King, who raced for Racing Engineering in 2016 and took two race victories, set the fourth fastest time on day two after switching to MP Motorsport, while Cecotto Jr again placed inside the top five, just ahead of 2016 Formula V8 3.5 runner up Louis Delétraz, who participated in all three days of the test for Racing Engineering.

Latifi hit the front on the final day with the best time of the test, his 1:48.929 enabling him to finish ahead of Cecotto Jr, King, Rowland, Artem Markelov of Russian Time and Antonio Fuoco of Prema Racing.

As well as Leclerc, Albon and Fuoco, there were debuts in GP2 machinery in the test for Alex Palou, Egor Orudzhev, Sergio Sette Câmara, Felix Serralles, Mahaveer Raghunathan, Salvatore de Plano, Nyck de Vries, Callum Ilott and Christopher Hoher.

Yas Marina Circuit Test Day 1 Result

[table id=1733 /]

Yas Marina Circuit Test Day 2 Result

[table id=1734 /]

Yas Marina Circuit Test Day 3 Result

[table id=1735 /]

Avatar photo
13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
Formula 2GP2 Series

FIA announce GP2 re-branding as FIA Formula 2 Championship

1 Mins read
The FIA Formula 2 Championship has been born following the re-branding of the GP2 Series, starting with the 2017 season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

ART Grand Prix bring Albon into GP2 Series line-up

1 Mins read
Alexander Albon will make the jump from GP3 to GP2 in 2017, remaining with the ART Grand Prix squad he finished second with last season.
Formula 2GP2 Series

Ghiotto joins Markelov at Russian Time for 2017

1 Mins read
Luca Ghiotto will move from Trident to Russian Time in 2017, where he will join Artem Markelov.