Al-Attiyah wins opening Dakar stage before hitting trouble

1 Mins read
Nasser Al Attiyah won the opening stage of the 2017 Dakar Rally - Credit: Flavien Duhamel/Red Bull Content Pool

Two-time Dakar Rally champion Nasser Al-Attiyah was the pacesetter on the opening stage of the 2017 event, a 39 kilometre special stage in Paraguay.

The Qatari and his Toyota co-driver Matthieu Baumel set a best time of 25 minutes and 41 seconds as the legendary event got underway on Monday, and Al-Attiyah ended the stage with a 24-second advantage over Ford Ranger star Xevi Pons.

Despite setting the pace, Al-Attiyah ended the day being towed by team-mate Giniel de Villiers on the road section, with a fire needing to be extinguished.

Nani Roma ended the stage third quickest for Toyota ahead of Carlos Sainz, who was the leading Peugeot entrant in fourth, ahead of de Villiers and Sebastien Loeb.

Juan Pedrero Garcia set the pace in the Bike classifications with a time of 28 minutes and 22 seconds for Sherco, although Yamaha privateer Xavier de Soultrait had gone faster only to be hit with a one-minute penalty for speeding that relegated him to tenth.

Honda duo Ricky Brabec and Paulo Goncalves were second and third respectively ahead of leading Briton Sam Sunderland of KTM and Spaniard Joan Barreda Bort of Honda.

Marcelo Medeiros was quickest in the Quads classification, his time of 32 minutes and 53 seconds more than a minute faster than second placed Gaston Gonzalez, while local rider Nelson Augusto Sanabria Galeano made it a trio of Yamaha’s inside the top three.

Martin Kolomy was on top in the Trucks classification with a time of 30 minutes exactly, with the Tatra driver 13-seconds ahead of Ton van Genugten of Iveco, while Martin van den Brink put his Renault into third, 12-seconds further back.

Dutchman Tim Coronel was fastest in the UTV classification with a time of 33 minutes and 13 seconds in his Suzuki, ahead of Russian Maganov Ravil (Polaris) and Romanian Andreu Cachafeiro Vidal (Yamaha).

Avatar photo
13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts

2025 Dakar Rally emphasising racing in Empty Quarter

1 Mins read
The 2025 Dakar Rally will run from Bisha to Shubaytah with 3 stages in the Empty Quarter, 5 with separate routes for cars and bikes, and even a mass start like the old days on the final leg.
DakarWorld Rally-Raid Championship

Manuel Andujar skipping Morocco and Dakar 2025, open to SSV

1 Mins read
With the death of the Quad class for the 2025 Dakar Rally, defending winner Manuel Andújar will not take part in another category, though he is interested in racing an SSV in the future.

Kove Moto continuing rally operations despite team shutdown

1 Mins read
Although Kove Moto dissolved their rally raid factory programme following CEO Zhang Xue’s departure in March, the marque will still provide support as the Taklimakan Rally looms.