Renault UK Clio Cup

Four New Names Amongst 24 Car Entry For Clio Cup

1 Mins read

Ginetta Junior Championship graduates Kyle Hornby and Cameron Roberts are amongst four previously unannounced drivers on the initial 2017 Renault UK Clio Cup entry list released today.

24 names have been confirmed to be competing in the Brands Hatch season opener next month (1/2 April), though championship officials say there is the likelihood of more drivers joining the grid.

Hornby and Roberts will both be making their Clio Cup debuts with Pyro following partial campaigns in the Juniors last year, with them each having been established top six finishers.

The other new names bring an international flair to the series, with Italian racer Ambrogio Perfetti and Swiss driver Oscar Rovelli teaming up at Westbourne Motorsport.

“The Renault UK Clio Cup is, by far, head and shoulders above any other single-make saloon car championship in Great Britain,” commented Championship Manager Will Fewkes

“This has to stand out as arguably the most competitive entry list the championship has seen since it started in its current guise in 2000 and whoever comes out on top in 2017 will have richly deserved their title.

“Furthermore we know of at least five more drivers who are close to signing with teams to either join 2017’s UK Clio Cup grid at or soon after our opening rounds at Brands Hatch.”

Provisional 2017 Renault UK Clio Cup Entry List:

Team Pyro – Mike Bushell, Jack McCarthy, Ollie Pidgley, Kyle Hornby, Cameron Roberts

JamSport Racing – Lucas Orrock, Aaron Thompson, Nathan Harrison, Graham Field

Ciceley Motorsport – Max Coates, Sam Osborne, Luke Reade, Jade Edwards

Westbourne Motorsport – James Dorlin, Myles Collins, Ambrogio Perfetti, Oscar Rovelli

WDE Motorsport – Paul Rivett, Paul Streather, Lee Pattison, Dan Zelos

PP Motorsport – James Colburn

SDR Motorsport – Shayne Deegan

DRM – Daniel Rowbottom

Related posts
Renault UK Clio Cup

Clio Cup UK Championship Postponed until 2021

1 Mins read
The 2020 Renault Sport Racing Clio Cup Championship has been postponed until 2021 due to the effects of the recent Coronavirus Pandemic
Renault UK Clio CupTCR Europe

Jack Young graduates from Clio Cup to TCR Europe

1 Mins read
17 year-old Jack Young will step up into a TCR-spec Renault Megane for the rest of the season.
Renault UK Clio Cup

All change at the top of the Renault UK Clio Cup standings following Oulton Park

2 Mins read
Jack Young and Max Coates won at Oulton Park. However, it’s all change at the top of the table

Leave a Reply