Marquez Leads Marc VDS 1-2 at Jerez Test

Alex Marquez led team-mate Franco Morbidelli as Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS dominated the official pre-season test at Jerez. The team endured a winless 2016 after a series of successful campaigns in the intermediate class but Marquez was the only rider all week to break the 1m42 barrier, leading Morbidelli by a tenth of a second.

Much of the pre-season intrigue surrounds the Red Bull Ajo squad who are moving up to Moto2 for the first time with KTM. The team have re-signed Miguel Oliveira and the Portuguese rider made a blistering start, setting the pace on day one while Moto3 champion Brad Binder worked his way back to fitness on the sister bike after a broken arm sustained in November.

The Marc VDS duo took control on day two though with Morbidelli going fastest but Marquez would ultimately end the week on top after setting a 1:41.989 on Friday, inside the existing lap record. Oliveira held onto third despite failing to improve on his day one benchmark while Dominique Aegerter took fourth for Kiefer Racing on the leading Suter.

Jorge Navarro finished as the leading rookie in fifth on the Gresini Kalex with Mattia Pasini completing the top six, just ahead of Takaaki Nakagami. Fabio Quartararo was another of the rookies to impress in eighth, edging out experienced pair Axel Pons and Thomas Luthi, but Lorenzo Baldassarri took no part whatsoever due to an inflammation of a tendon in his left arm.


Moto2 Official Pre-Season Test – Jerez (Combined Classification)

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
173. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:41.989
221. Franco MorbidelliKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:42.103
344. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:42.316
477. Dominique AegerterSuterKiefer Racing1:42.336
59. Jorge NavarroKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto21:42.376
654. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:42.474
730. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia1:42.496
840. Fabio QuartararoKalexPons HP 401:42.499
949. Axel PonsKalexRW Racing GP1:42.500
1012. Thomas LuthiKalexCarXpert Interwetten1:42.523
1110. Luca MariniKalexForward Team1:42.692
1252. Danny KentSuterKiefer Racing1:42.760
1368. Yonny HernandezKalexAGR Team1:42.877
1455. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia1:42.895
1557. Edgar PonsKalexPons HP 401:42.897
1689. Khairul Idham PawiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia1:42.977
1797. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 3 Racing1:43.003
1819. Xavier SimeonKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto21:43.078
1924. Simone CorsiSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing1:43.085
2045. Tetsuta NagashimaKalexTeluru SAG Team1:43.135
2142. Francesco BagnaiaKalexSky Racing Team VR461:43.170
225. Andrea LocatelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:43.305
2311. Sandro CorteseSuterDynavolt Intact GP1:43.359
2441. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:43.367
252. Jesko RaffinKalexCarXpert Interwetten1:43.424
2623. Marcel SchrotterSuterDynavolt Intact GP1:43.458
2787. Remy GardnerTech 3Tech 3 Racing1:43.752
2827. Iker LecuonaKalexCarXpert Interwetten1:43.787
2932. Isaac VinalesKalexSAG Team1:43.825
3047. Axel BassaniSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing1:44.569
3162. Stefano ManziKalexSky Racing Team VR461:46.341