Davies Breaks Rea Winning Streak at Aragon

Chaz Davies brought an end to Jonathan Rea’s winning streak after a last lap battle for victory went the Welshman’s way in race two at Aragon. The Ducati rider recovered from a late error to defeat the reigning champion for the first time this year, closing the gap at the top of the standings to fifty points.

With the new-for-2017 grid rules sending Rea and Davies back to ninth and tenth respectively, the two were expected to find it slightly tougher to dominate the second race in the same way they had yesterday. However, the pair made a mockery of their deficit by slicing their way to the front, Rea passing polesitter Alex Lowes by lap four.

Ultimately, the two would be joined in a three-man breakaway by Marco Melandri but a fastest-lap by Davies two laps from home looked to have settled the matter in his favour. Memories of his race one crash came flooding back though when Chaz suffered a huge moment at turn four, somehow saving the Ducati, but the error brought Rea right back onto his tail.

With the Ducati so strong on the long back straight, Rea’s best hope was to force his way through before exiting turn fifteen but a desperate dive at the tight left-hander didn’t pay off, allowing Davies to claim a much-needed victory. Melandri followed home in a close third while Tom Sykes trailed in fourth on the second Kawasaki.

After a false neutral caused Lowes to crash, falling to thirteenth, Michael van der Mark claimed fifth for Yamaha ahead of Spanish duo Xavi Fores and Jordi Torres. Leandro Mercado was the leading Aprilia rider again, pipping Eugene Laverty to eighth, while Leon Camier salvaged tenth for MV Agusta.


WorldSBK 2017: Spanish Round – Race Two Result

17. Chaz DaviesDucatiAruba.it Racing – Ducati33:30.90625
21. Jonathan ReaKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team+0.48320
333. Marco MelandriDucatiAruba.it Racing – Ducati+2.47916
466. Tom SykesKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team+10.56213
560. Michael van der MarkYamahaPata Yamaha Official WSBK Team+13.33611
612. Xavi ForesDucatiBARNI Racing Team+16.95110
781. Jordi TorresBMWAlthea BMW Racing Team+18.6389
836. Leandro MercadoApriliaIODARacing+18.7008
950. Eugene LavertyApriliaMilwaukee Aprilia+21.2907
102. Leon CamierMV AgustaMV Agusta Reparto Corse+22.2466
1140. Roman RamosKawasakiTeam Kawasaki GoEleven+24.3075
126. Stefan BradlHondaRed Bull Honda WorldSBK Team+25.8294
1322. Alex LowesYamahaPata Yamaha Official WSBK Team+26.6113
1488. Randy KrummenacherKawasakiKawasaki Puccetti Racing+40.5752
153. Julian SimonApriliaMilwaukee Aprilia+40.7691
1621. Markus ReiterbergerBMWAlthea BMW Racing Team+40.915
1786. Ayrton BadoviniKawasakiGrillini Racing Team+1:00.980
NC15. Alex de AngelisKawasakiPedercini Racing SC-Project+5 Laps
NC84. Riccardo RussoYamahaGuandalini Racing+6 Laps
NC69. Nicky HaydenHondaRed Bull Honda WorldSBK Team+7 Laps
NS37. Ondrej JezekKawasakiGrillini Racing Team