Global RallycrossGRC Lites

Scott Speed paces opening practice session in Memphis

1 Mins read
Scott Speed will again be defending champion - Credit: Larry Chen/Red Bull GRC

Reigning Red Bull Global Rallycross champion Scott Speed finished the opening practice session of the 2017  season top of the charts, heading home Steve Arpin and team mate Tanner Foust.

Subaru‘s Chris Atkinson was the early pace setter before the Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross duo of Speed and Foust jumped to the fore.

The VARX pair, who dominated last season them moved to the top and dominated the latter part of the session until Arpin set a quick time late in the session to move him into second, splitting the Beetle drivers.

Atkinson ended the session fourth fastest, ahead of team mate Patrik Sandell who completed the top five.

Next up was Sebastian Eriksson who was sixth fastest, ahead of Olsbergs Honda team mate Mitchell DeJong.

2016 and 2015 Red Bull GRC Lites champions Cabot Bigham and Oliver Eriksson were next up in eighth and ninth, with Austin Dyne completing the field.

In GRC Lites, Colin Braun topped opening practice, ahead of Christian Brooks and reigning RX Lites Cup champion Cyril Raymond.

Avatar photo
333 posts

About author
Dominik Wilde is a professional motorsport and motoring writer that has covered events in both the UK and USA. His main focus for the Checkered Flag is covering Americas Rallycross and Nitro Rallycross.
Related posts
Global RallycrossGRC LitesNASCAR Cup SeriesStadium SUPER TrucksX Games

Austin Cindric joins Robby Gordon as X Games medalists with NASCAR Cup wins

6 Mins read
What do Daytona 500 champ Austin Cindric and Robby Gordon have in common? They’re the only drivers with NASCAR Cup Series wins and X Games medals. Thanks to rallycross and Stadium Super Trucks, the NASCAR/X Games overlap is quite deep.
Global RallycrossNASCAR Truck SeriesNASCAR Xfinity SeriesStadium SUPER TrucksX Games

Xfinity, Truck Championship Rounds feature SST, X Games experience

6 Mins read
Of the 8 NASCAR Xfinity and Truck drivers fighting for championships this weekend, 3—Sheldon Creed, Zane Smith, and Brett Moffit—have driven a Stadium Super Truck. Creed and Xfinity regular season champ Austin Cindric have also won X Games off-road medals.
Americas Rallycross ChampionshipFMXGlobal RallycrossRallycross

More action sports stars have 'potential' to move into rallycross

3 Mins read
But spiralling costs could put a stop to any big moves