Davies Wins Shortened Imola Race One

by Louis Suddaby

Chaz Davies claimed his second victory of the 2017 World Superbike season after totally dominating race one at Imola on Saturday. The Ducati rider was over six seconds clear of Jonathan Rea before the race was cut short by a red flag, thrown due to a horrendous accident involving Eugene Laverty who fortunately escaped injury.

Last season, Imola played host to one of Ducati’s strongest rounds and the Superpole session seemed to indicate the Panigale was the bike to beat again, Davies taking a rare pole position ahead of Tom Sykes and Rea. The Welshman wasn’t touched off the start line either, storming into Tamburello ahead of his team-mate Marco Melandri, climbing from fifth to second.

Davies duly eased off into the distance while Melandri came under pressure from the two factory Kawasakis. The pressure eventually told on lap five with the world champion diving up the inside into the Variante Alta chicane, while Marco soon had the second ZX-10R of Sykes for company.

Fortunately for the Italian, his place on the podium was secured by the early stoppage as Alex Lowes tangled with Eugene Laverty on the approach to Rivazza, the contact leaving Eugene’s Aprilia with no brakes. Wisely, the Irishman jumped from his machine which careered into the concrete wall before bursting into flames and the resultant debris forced race direction to halt proceedings.

As a result, Davies took victory from Rea and Melandri while Tom Sykes had to settle for fourth, although he did secure the consolation prize of race two pole position. Xavi Fores was fifth ahead of Leon Camier’s MV Agusta while the Yamahas of Michael van der Mark and Alex Lowes were classified seventh and eighth. Roman Ramos took ninth with Stefan Bradl the only Honda to see the chequered flag in tenth.


WorldSBK 2017: Italian Round – Race Two Result

17. Chaz DaviesDucatiAruba.it Racing – Ducati21:21.37125
21. Jonathan ReaKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team+6.69620
333. Marco MelandriDucatiAruba.it Racing – Ducati+9.28716
466. Tom SykesKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team+9.91313
512. Xavi ForesDucatiBARNI Racing Team+16.14211
62. Leon CamierMV AgustaMV Agusta Reparto Corse+21.91410
760. Michael van der MarkYamahaPata Yamaha Official WSBK Team+24.6389
822. Alex LowesYamahaPata Yamaha Official WSBK Team+25.7928
940. Roman RamosKawasakiTeam Kawasaki GoEleven+34.0357
106. Stefan BradlHondaRed Bull Honda WorldSBK Team+34.5856
1115. Alex de AngelisKawasakiPedercini Racing SC-Project+39.8575
1232. Lorenzo SavadoriApriliaMilwaukee Aprilia+40.6394
1388. R. KrummenacherKawasakiKawasaki Puccetti Racing+43.0893
1435. Raffaele de RosaBMWAlthea BMW Racing Team+43.5602
1586. Ayrton BadoviniKawasakiGrillini Racing Team+47.2891
1637. Ondrej JezekKawasakiGrillini Racing Team+50.389
NC50. Eugene LavertyApriliaMilwaukee Aprilia+25.001
NC84. Riccardo RussoYamahaGuandalini Racing+6 Laps
NC69. Nicky HaydenHondaRed Bull Honda WorldSBK Team+8 Laps
NC36. Leandro MercadoApriliaIODARacing+9 Laps
NS81. Jordi TorresBMWAlthea BMW Racing TeamIllness

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More