Fukuzumi Claims Victory in Opening Race of 2017 GP3 Series

Credit: Zak Mauger/GP3 Series Media

Nirei Fukuzumi took victory in the opening GP3 Series race of the 2017 campaign – his maiden victory in the series – by a margin of nearly seven and a half seconds over his nearest rival Leonardo Pulcini with Alessio Lorandi completing the podium.

Briton Jack Aitken had started from pole position and endured a hard fight with Fukuzumi with the pair trying to get the upper hand over one another.

This intense fight was brought to an end on lap 16 as Aitken suffered a sensor failure, stuttering on track before limping back to the pits and retirement, allowing the Japanese man to race off into the lead.

The focus of the race then switched to the Italian pairing behind of Pulcini and Lorandi with the latter all over the back of the former in the closing stages of the race but it came to no avail with Pulcini crossing the line to take P2 with Lorandi four tenths of a second behind.

Mercedes Junior driver George Russell  managed to stay out of trouble and preserve his tyres to make a push up to fourth place at the flag to hold off team-mate Anthoine Hubert.

Dorian Boccolacci denied Arjun Maini for P6.

Further back, the Campos Racing duo of Raoul Hyman and Marcos Siebert were fighting over not only bragging rights but also P8 and reverse grid pole for the sprint race – with Hyman coming out on top.

To make matters worse for Siebert, American Santino Ferrucci nicked p9 from the Argentine at the final corner.

GP3 Series 2017 Barcelona Race 1 Results

12Nirei FukuzumiJPNART Grand Prix36m41.269
26Leonardo PulciniITAArden International36m48.702
322Alessio LorandiITAJenzer Motorsport36m49.158
43George RussellGBRART Grand Prix36m53.076
54Anthonie Hubert FRAART Grand Prix36m53.428
612Dorian BoccolacciFRATrident 36m55.633
724Arjun Maini INDJenzer Motorsport36m56.175
827Raoul HymanRSACampos Racing37m12.255
914Santino FerrucciUSADAMS 37m12.583
1028Marcos SiebertARGCampos Racing37m12.626
1126Julien FalcheroFRACampos Racing37m13.181
1211Ryan Tveter USATrident 37m13.497
139Kevin Jörg SUITrident 37m14.185
1415Tatiana CalderonCOLDAMS 37m14.557
155Niko Kari FINArden International37m17.265
1616Bruno BaptistaBRADAMS 37m19.052
1710Giuliano AlesiFRATrident 37m19.509
187Steijn SchothorstNED Arden International37m20.681
191Jack Aitken GBRART Grand PrixDNF