Luthi Back on Form with Le Mans Pole

Thomas Luthi - Photo Credit:

Thomas Luthi set the fastest ever Moto2 lap of Le Mans to claim his third pole position around the Bugatti circuit. The Swiss rider, who has the best record of any rider in this class around Le Mans, saw off the challenge of star rookie Francesco Bagnaia and championship leader Franco Morbidelli to take pole by 0.026s.

The big news heading into qualifying surrounded Jerez winner Alex Marquez who suffered a dramatic highside in FP3, an incident which also wiped out Iker Lecuona. The younger Spaniard suffered a broken collarbone which ended his weekend and although Marquez continued, he would do so with a broken bone in his foot.

The session started quietly for Luthi as Morbidelli made the early running but the Interwetten rider sprung to life in the final quarter of an hour on his last set of tyres. Thomas immediately broke into the 1:36s to claim provisional pole before proceeding to break his own pole position record, setting a 1:36.548 to hold off the sensational Bagnaia, the Sky VR46 man all but matching his time in the dying seconds.

Morbidelli was a tenth adrift in third while Luca Marini continued his fine run of form with fourth place, comfortably his career best starting spot. Dominique Aegerter remains the leading Suter rider after qualifying fifth ahead of the pain-stricken Marquez while Mattia Pasini heads the third row, joined by Lorenzo Baldassarri and Marcel Schrotter.


Moto2 HJC Helmets Grand Prix de France – Qualifying Result

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
112. Thomas LuthiKalexCarXpert Interwetten1:36.548
242. Francesco BagnaiaKalexSky Racing Team VR461:36.574
321. Franco MorbidelliKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:36.649
410. Luca MariniKalexForward Team1:36.794
577. Dominique AegerterSuterKiefer Racing1:36.863
673. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:36.884
754. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:36.966
87. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Team1:37.154
923. Marcel SchrotterSuterDynavolt Intact GP1:37.173
1011. Sandro CorteseSuterDynavolt Intact GP1:37.185
1197. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 3 Racing1:37.223
1219. Xavier SimeonKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto21:37.268
1368. Yonny HernandezKalexAGR Team1:37.277
1424. Simone CorsiSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing1:37.280
1588. Ricard CardusKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:37.369
1649. Axel PonsKalexRW Racing GP1:37.376
1744. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:37.440
1830. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia1:37.448
1932. Isaac VinalesKalexBE-A-VIP SAG Team1:37.677
2040. Fabio QuartararoKalexPons HP 401:37.685
219. Jorge NavarroKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto21:37.698
2255. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia1:37.766
2387. Remy GardnerTech 3Tech 3 Racing1:37.769
2462. Stefano ManziKalexSky Racing Team VR461:37.911
252. Jesko RaffinKalexCarXpert Interwetten1:37.979
265. Andrea LocatelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:38.122
2745. Tetsuta NagashimaKalexTeluru SAG Team1:38.572
2847. Axel BassaniSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing1:38.733
296. Tarran MackenzieSuterKiefer Racing1:38.988
3057. Edgar PonsKalexPons HP 401:39.068
3189. Khairul Idham PawiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia1:39.395
NQ27. Iker LecuonaKalexGarage Plus InterwettenNo Time