Marquez Ends Wait for Maiden Moto2 Win

by Louis Suddaby

Alex Marquez took advantage of a crash from championship leader Franco Morbidelli to claim his maiden Moto2 victory on home soil at Jerez. The Spaniard broke his duck in the intermediate class at the 39th time of asking, bringing his team-mate’s undefeated start to 2017 to an end.

Marquez had dominated the weekend prior to race day but the pressure looked to be telling when the no.73 skated wide at turn five, handing the lead to Morbidelli. As it turned out though, Alex had the superior race pace and in his desperate attempts to keep the no.73 at bay, Franco lost the front end of his Kalex at turn nine, the same corner where he had crashed on Friday afternoon.

From there, the path was clear for Marquez to take a long-overdue victory while a lap two collision blew the podium battle wide open. Speed Up’s Simone Corsi instigated a three-bike clash at the Dry Sac hairpin, tagging Xavi Vierge whilst also wiping out championship contender Takaaki Nakagami.

Through the mayhem came Francesco Bagnaia who saw off the early threat from Mattia Pasini to finish a superb second, claiming his maiden Moto2 rostrum in just his fourth start. Pasini would fade, ultimately losing third to the KTM of Miguel Oliveira, but the Italtrans rider just had enough to hold off the Forward Kalex of Luca Marini.

Marcel Schrotter was the leading Suter across the line in sixth, just edging out Dominique Aegerter while Thomas Luthi salvaged eighth from a tough weekend, closing Morbidelli’s championship lead down to eleven points.


Moto2 Gran Premio Red Bull de Espana – Race Result

173. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS43:24.35025
242. Francesco BagnaiaKalexSky Racing Team VR46+3.44220
344. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+4.95816
454. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team+6.82413
510. Luca MariniKalexForward Team+6.91711
623. Marcel SchrotterSuterDynavolt Intact GP+9.56110
777. Dominique AegerterSuterKiefer Racing+10.2669
812. Thomas LuthiKalexCarXpert Interwetten+11.5948
968. Yonny HernandezKalexAGR Team+19.2127
1049. Axel PonsKalexRW Racing GP+19.2936
117. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Team+19.6725
129. Jorge NavarroKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto2+24.4874
1355. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia+25.5223
1488. Ricard CardusKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo+26.0492
1545. Tetsuta NagashimaKalexTeluru SAG Team+26.0891
1640. Fabio QuartararoKalexPons HP 40+29.877
1757. Edgar PonsKalexPons HP 40+33.799
1832. Isaac VinalesKalexBE-A-VIP SAG Team+35.196
1919. Xavier SimeonKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto2+40.950
202. Jesko RaffinKalexCarXpert Interwetten+43.165
2130. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia+43.282
2287. Remy GardnerTech 3Tech 3 Racing+47.675
2347. Axel BassaniSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing+48.478
2422. Federico FuligniSuterKiefer Racing+1:11.416
2562. Stefano ManziKalexSky Racing Team VR46+1:15.738
265. Andrea LocatelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team+1 Lap
NC11. Sandro CorteseSuterDynavolt Intact GP+9 Laps
NC97. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 3 Racing+9 Laps
NC89. Khairul Idham PawiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia+12 Laps
NC27. Iker LecuonaKalexGarage Plus Interwetten+14 Laps
NC21. Franco MorbidelliKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS+17 Laps
NC24. Simone CorsiSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing+23 Laps

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More