Rea Ends Sykes Donington Domination

Jonathan Rea leads Tom Sykes - Photo Credit: Kawasaki

Jonathan Rea brought Tom Sykes’ nine-race winning streak at Donington Park to an end in a tense battle on Sunday. The pair started at the bottom of the top ten but Rea’s aggression through traffic in the early stages ultimately made the difference as he held off a fast-closing Sykes for his eighth win of 2017, Kawasaki’s 100th as a WorldSBK manufacturer.

By virtue of his race one victory, Sykes lined up ninth for race two, one spot ahead of his team-mate but while the Yorkshireman completed the first lap exactly where he had started, Rea had sliced his way through to second while another decisive overtake on Leandro Mercado saw him lead out of Redgate on lap two.

A collision between Mercado and Leon Haslam at Goddards aided Sykes’ progress, while also delaying Chaz Davies, but by the time he had finally passed Michael van der Mark for second on lap seven, Tom was four seconds in arrears. What followed was a gripping time attack between the two Kawasaki team-mates as Sykes relentlessly chased Rea down, setting a succession of fastest laps.

In the end, the no.66 ran out of laps with Rea holding on to win by 1.6 seconds, securing a much-cherished home victory for the Ulsterman. Van der Mark looked on course to hand Yamaha their second consecutive rostrum but Davies made sensational progress after falling to eleventh in the Mercado-Haslam collision, snatching third with a lap to spare.

Alex Lowes backed up his Saturday podium with fifth on Sunday while Leon Camier matched his race one result, taking sixth for MV Agusta. Xavi Fores was seventh ahead of Roman Ramos while British wildcard Jake Dixon took advantage of a high attrition rate to finish a superb ninth, Mercado and polesitter Marco Melandri having dropped out ahead of him.


WorldSBK 2017: UK Round – Race Two Result

11. Jonathan ReaKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team33:53.13825
266. Tom SykesKawasakiKawasaki Racing Team+1.60120
37. Chaz Racing – Ducati+12.20016
460. Michael van der MarkYamahaPata Yamaha Official WSBK Team+12.98413
522. Alex LowesYamahaPata Yamaha Official WSBK Team+18.95311
62. Leon CamierMV AgustaMV Agusta Reparto Corse+23.97110
712. Xavi ForesDucatiBARNI Racing Team+29.8929
840. Roman RamosKawasakiTeam Kawasaki GoEleven+44.7428
927. Jake DixonKawasakiRoyal Air Force Reg. & Res.+50.6227
1035. Raffaele de RosaBMWAlthea BMW Racing Team+51.7496
116. Stefan BradlHondaRed Bull Honda WorldSBK Team+59.4595
1284. Riccardo RussoYamahaGuandalini Racing+1:12.7944
1337. Ondrej JezekKawasakiGrillini Racing Team+1:22.7193
1486. Ayrton BadoviniKawasakiGrillini Racing Team+5 Laps2
NC32. Lorenzo SavadoriApriliaMilwaukee Aprilia+8 Laps
NC33. Marco Racing – Ducati+15 Laps
NC36. Leandro MercadoApriliaIODARacing+15 Laps
NC81. Jordi TorresBMWAlthea BMW Racing Team+18 Laps
NC50. Eugene LavertyApriliaMilwaukee Aprilia+20 Laps
NC15. Alex de AngelisKawasakiPedercini Racing SC-Project+21 Laps
NC91. Leon HaslamKawasakiKawasaki Puccetti Racing+22 Laps
NC88. R. KrummenacherKawasakiKawasaki Puccetti Racing+23 Laps