Aubry leads the way as NEC season gets underway in Italy

Gabriel Aubry was quickest in both Collective Test sessions in Monza on Friday - Credit: Gregory / NEC Media

The Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup season finally gets underway this weekend around the legendary Autodromo Nazionale Monza, and it was Frenchman Gabriel Aubry who paced the field on Friday.

The Tech 1 Racing driver was fastest in the opening session on Friday morning with a best time of 1:50.424s, and despite going slightly slower in the second session, his 1:50.693s was again enough for him to end the session on top.

Finishing second in both sessions was Aubry’s team-mate Max Fewtrell, with the Briton 0.269 seconds down in the first session and 0.145 seconds down in the second.

Presley Martono put his Mark Burdett Motorsport machine third fastest in the first session, just ahead of Frenchman Jean-Baptiste Simmenauer of JD Motorsport, while R-ace GP’s Charles Milesi rounded out the top five ahead of Renault Sport Academy member Sun Yue Yang of JD Motorsport.

Simmenauer blotted his copybook by spinning at turn ten in the second session, meaning he could not better eleventh, with Gilles Magnus and Milesi ensuring R-ace GP ended third and fourth fastest ahead of Yue Yang and Michael Benyahia.

Autodromo Nazionale Monza Collective Test 1 Result

114Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing1:50.424
27Max FewtrellGBRTech 1 Racing1:50.693
326Presley MartonoINAMark Burdett Motorsport1:50.767
422Jean-Baptiste SimmenauerFRAJD Motorsport1:51.117
51Charles MilesiFRAR-ace GP1:51.379
621Sun Yue YangCHIJD Motorsport1:51.516
719Frank BirdGBRFortec Motorsports1:51.599
85Thomas MaxwellAUSTech 1 Racing1:51.636
93Michael BenyahiaMARR-ace GP1:51.717
104Gilles MagnusBELR-ace GP1:52.224
1125Julia PankiewiczPOLMark Burdett Motorsport1:52.477
1296Bartlomiej MireckiPOLBM Racing1:52.600
132Theo CoicaudFRAR-ace GP1:52.657
1451Wing Hoong ChiaMALFortec Motorsports1:54.966
156Thomas NeubauerFRATech 1 RacingNo Time

Autodromo Nazionale Monza Collective Test 2 Result

114Gabriel AubryFRATech 1 Racing1:50.693
27Max FewtrellGBRTech 1 Racing1:50.838
34Gilles MagnusBELR-ace GP1:51.306
41Charles MilesiFRAR-ace GP1:51.315
521Sun Yue YangCHIJD Motorsport1:51.413
63Michael BenyahiaMARR-ace GP1:51.448
75Thomas MaxwellAUSTech 1 Racing1:51.726
82Theo CoicaudFRAR-ace GP1:51.824
919Frank BirdGBRFortec Motorsports1:51.985
1026Presley MartonoINAMark Burdett Motorsport1:52.233
1122Jean-Baptiste SimmenauerFRAJD Motorsport1:52.473
1225Julia PankiewiczPOLMark Burdett Motorsport1:52.860
1351Wing Hoong ChiaMALFortec Motorsports1:53.702
1496Bartlomiej MireckiPOLBM Racing1:53.799
156Thomas NeubauerFRATech 1 RacingNo Time