Marquez Claims Catalunya Moto2 Pole Position

Alex Marquez - Photo Credit:

Alex Marquez claimed his second pole position from two Spanish rounds in 2017 after topping the qualifying times in Barcelona. The Marc VDS rider was on top the last time qualifying took place on Spanish tarmac at Jerez and proved too strong again, outpacing Mugello winner Mattia Pasini and Forward’s Lorenzo Baldassarri.

With temperatures climbing, Marquez’s strategy to put a flying lap in early paid dividends, the Spaniard clocking a 1:49.408 on just his fourth lap of the session. At one stage, Alex enjoyed an eight tenth advantage over the chasing pack led by Franco Morbidelli but a late burst from Pasini saw the Italian slash the deficit, closing to within a tenth.

Baldassarri also closed in but narrowly failed to break the 1:50 barrier. Despite that, the Italian still did enough to secure the final spot on the front row, a boost for him after crashing on the opening lap of his home Grand Prix and also for his team, who saw Luca Marini withdraw through injury earlier in the weekend.

Takaaki Nakagami will start fourth with the two championship frontrunners alongside on the second row, Thomas Luthi lining up fifth with Morbidelli falling to sixth after failing to better his own early effort. Miguel Oliveira starts seventh for KTM ahead of Jorge Navarro and Axel Pons with Isaac Vinales completing the top ten.


Moto2 Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya – Qualifying

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
173. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:49.408
254. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:49.515
37. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Team1:50.052
430. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia1:50.201
512. Thomas LuthiKalexCarXpert Interwetten1:50.206
621. Franco MorbidelliKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:50.271
744. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:50.276
89. Jorge NavarroKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto21:50.346
949. Axel PonsKalexRW Racing GP1:50.415
1032. Isaac VinalesKalexBE-A-VIP SAG Team1:50.469
1197. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 3 Racing1:50.554
1211. Sandro CorteseSuterDynavolt Intact GP1:50.700
1324. Simone CorsiSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing1:50.734
1440. Fabio QuartararoKalexPons HP 401:50.751
1523. Marcel SchrotterSuterDynavolt Intact GP1:50.757
1668. Yonny HernandezKalexAGR Team1:50.777
1745. Tetsuta NagashimaKalexTeluru SAG Team1:50.812
185. Andrea LocatelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:50.884
1977. Dominique AegerterSuterKiefer Racing1:50.933
2042. Francesco BagnaiaKalexSky Racing Team VR461:50.995
2141. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:51.097
2219. Xavier SimeonKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto21:51.097
2355. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia1:51.134
242. Jesko RaffinKalexCarXpert Interwetten1:51.187
2562. Stefano ManziKalexSky Racing Team VR461:51.245
2687. Remy GardnerTech 3Tech 3 Racing1:51.270
2727. Iker LecuonaKalexGarage Plus Interwetten1:51.359
2837. Augusto FernandezSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing1:51.857
2957. Edgar PonsKalexPons HP 401:52.183
3022. Federico FuligniKalexForward Junior Team1:52.332
316. Tarran MackenzieSuterKiefer Racing1:52.459
3289. Khairul Idham PawiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia1:52.659
NQ10. Luca MariniKalexForward TeamNo Time