George Russell Remains on Top to Claim GP3 Series Pole at Silverstone

Credit: Malcolm Griffiths/GP3 Series Media Service

George Russell will start on pole position for the GP3 Series Feature Race on Saturday at Silverstone.

Many of the drivers took their first few laps steady as they got to grips with the circuit.

Bruno Baptista was the first driver to put in a sub 2-minute lap time, but steadily dropped down the order as drivers got up to speed.

Yesterday’s pacesetter and Red Bull Ring Feature Race winner, Russell soon found himself at the top of the timings with team-mate Anthoine Hubert making it an ART Grand Prix 1-2.

Nirei Fukuzumi was able to split the pair to make it an all ART top three, before Dorian Boccolacci bettered the time of Hubert. Outfront, Russell was able to find even more time and extended his advantage over the field.

Boccolacci looked set to dispose of Russell but lost a lot of time in the middle sector, to go second by 0.005 seconds.

It had been a difficult start to the session for the fourth ART of Jack Aitken but a strong lap time brought him right back into the mix to go fastest, only briefly though as all three of his team-mates came through to better his time.

The British-Korean soon found himself pushed further pack as Boccolacci and Alessio Lorandi both jumped ahead of him.

In the closing moments there was not the traditional flurry of improvements.

Therefore the top ten will line up as: Russell, Hubert, Fukuzumi, Boccolacci, Lorandi, Aitken, Niko KariArjun MainiRyan Tveter and Julien Falchero.

Boccolacci is set to drop three places on the grid as a result of his collision with Lorandi on the final lap of the Austrian Sprint Race.

2017 GP3 Series Qualifying Results – Silverstone

13George RussellGBRART Grand Prix1m46.608
24Anthoine HubertFRAART Grand Prix1m46.714
32Nirei FukuzumiJPNART Grand Prix1m46.833
412Dorian BoccolacciFRATrident 1m47.052
522Alessio LorandiITAJenzer Motorsport 1m47.082
61Jack AitkenGBRART Grand Prix1m47.090
75Niko KariFINArden International1m47.259
824Arjun MainiINDJenzer Motorsport 1m47.412
911Ryan TveterUSATrident 1m47.412
1026Julien FalcheroFRACampos Racing1m47.473
1127Raoul Hyman RSACampos Racing1m47.571
1210Giuliano AlesiFRATrident 1m47.588
139Kevin JörgSUITrident 1m47.658
146Leonardo PulciniITAArden International1m47.677
157Steijn SchothorstNEDArden International1m47.823
1614Santino Ferrucci USADAMS 1m47.898
1728Marco SiebertARGCampos Racing1m47.977
1816Bruno Baptista BRADAMS 1m48.544
1915Tatiana CalderonCOLDAMS 1m48.893