Hyman Storms to Maiden GP3 Victory at the Red Bull Ring

Credit: Zak Mauger/GP3 Media Service

Campos Racing‘s Raoul Hyman claimed his maiden victory of the GP3 Series at the Red Bull Ring.

The South African was joined on the podium by Giuliano Alesi and yesterday’s third place man Nirei Fukuzumi.

Just as at the Circuit de Catalunya, Hyman started the Sprint Race from reverse grid pole but this time he made the start work for him to lead the pack into Turn 1.

Alongside him, Alessio Lorandi bogged down and was passed by Alesi, Ryan Tveter and ART Grand Prix trio Fukuzumi, Jack Aitken and George Russell. 

The fourth ART of Anthoine Hubert lost places at the start and ran off track.

Out front, Hyman pulled out a gap of just under a second to Alesi as the pair exchanged fastest laps and pulled clear of Tveter in third.

The gap remained at that distance for the rest of the race, Alesi tried to use his DRS allowance but it was to no avail.

Behind the lead pair, Fukuzumi was waiting patiently as Tveter fell into his clutches, finally getting the move done on the 17th lap.

Aitken had been on the tail of the pair but ran wide at Turn 1 falling into the clutches of yesterday’s race winner Russell.

Dorian Boccolacci had been attempting to pass Lorandi for seventh, but clipped the Jenzer Motorsport driver’s rear and was sent skyward before being forced into a triple roll in the gravel.

Boccalacci was able to clamber from the wreckage and was classified as 17th despite not seeing the chequered flag.

The now damaged Lorandi dropped down to eighth behind Hubert.

Arden International‘s difficult weekend carried when Red Bull Junior Niko Kari slowed and entered the pits on lap 11, his team got him going again to finish 18th place and a lap down.

The only non-finisher was DAMS‘ Bruno Baptista who ran wide at Turn 9 and was launched airborne over the kerbs.

2017 GP3 Series Race 2 Results – Red Bull Ring

127Raoul Hyman RSACampos Racing24m36.848
210Giuliano AlesiFRATrident 24m35.786
32Nirei FukuzumiJPNART Grand Prix24m40.647
411Ryan TveterUSATrident 24m41.955
51Jack AitkenGBRART Grand Prix24m42.797
62George RussellGBRART Grand Prix24m43.845
74Anthoine HubertFRAART Grand Prix24m44.020
822Alessio LorandiITAJenzer Motorsport 24m49.525
99Kevin Jörg SUITrident 24m50.158
1028Marcos SiebertARGCampos Racing24m50.738
1126Julien FalcheroFRACampos Racing24m51.335
1215Tatiana CalderonCOLDAMS 24m51.774
1314Santino FerrucciUSADAMS 24m51.795
146Leonardo PulciniITAArden International24m51.954
157Steijn SchothorstNEDArden International24m52.715
1624Arjun MainiINDJenzer Motorsport 24m55.307
1712Dorian BoccolacciFRATrident DNF
185Niko KariFINArden International+1 Lap
DNF16Bruno Baptista BRADAMS DNF