Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

MP Motorsport make Winning Return to NEC at Assen

1 Mins read
Neil Verhagen took his maiden win in Saturday's opener at Assen - Credit: Gregory Eyckmans / necup

For the first time in two years, MP Motorsport competed in the Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup and saw their drivers take both race victories at the TT Circuit Assen.

The team’s three regular Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series drivers joined the field of eight cars this weekend in the Netherlands, and despite R-ace GP’s Gilles Magnus taking a double pole position, it was Neil Verhagen and Richard Verschoor who took the victories.

Magnus made a mess of his first pole position on Saturday, jumping the start and allowing the MP duo of Verhagen and Verschoor to assume first and second, with the American having made the superior start to jump the Dutchman into turn one.

Once Magnus took his penalty it dropped the Belgian to the rear of the field, but he was able to reclaim seventh from team-mate Theo Coicaud into turn one late in the race, with his position being confirmed when the Frenchman spun.

Behind Verhagen and Verschoor came R-ace GP’s Charles Milesi, who took a podium in just his third race start in Formula Renault, while MP Motorsport’s Jarno Opmeer took fourth after coming out on top of a battle that also included Michael Benyahia and Bartlomiej Mirecki.

Magnus made a much better start on Sunday for race two, and was in control of the race before team-mate Milesi broke down on track and caused a two-lap safety car period.

On the restart, Magnus was unable to shake off Verschoor, and with just two laps to go the Dutchman, to the delight of his home fans in the Netherlands, made a move for the lead at the Timmer Complex, and held on to take the victory.

Magnus ultimately took second and the lead of the championship, while Opmeer made it two Dutchmen on the podium in third ahead of Verhagen, Mirecki, Benyahia and Coicaud.

Richard Verschoor took victory in race two – Credit: Gregory Eyckmans / necup

Related posts
Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup Will Not Return in 2019

1 Mins read
The Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup has ceased to be after thirteen years, with promoter Mick de Haas blaming ‘ill-conceived’ plans by the FIA for the categories demise.
Formula Renault 2.0 NECFormula Renault EurocupSeason Review

Season Review: Formula Renault 2.0 (Eurocup and NEC) – Fewtrell and Ghattas Take Titles

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and Northern European Cup seasons, with championship triumphs for Max Fewtrell and Douried Ghattas.
Formula Renault 2.0 NECFormula Renault Eurocup

Fewtrell Capitalises on Lundgaard Misfortune for Second Hockenheim Win

2 Mins read
Max Fewtrell moved further ahead in the championship after taking victory in race two in Germany as long-time leader Christian Lundgaard was forced into retirement.

Leave a Reply