Pasini Hangs on for Austrian GP Pole

Mattia Pasini - Photo Credit:

Mattia Pasini secured back-to-back pole positions after holding off a late charge from Franco Morbidelli in qualifying for the Austrian Grand Prix. The Italtrans rider, who had gone almost ten years without a pole position prior to Brno, took his second in as many weekends by one thousandth of a second from championship leader Morbidelli.

In similar circumstances to last weekend, Pasini did all of the hard work at the start of qualifying, clocking a 1:29.394 on his third timed lap of the afternoon. For much of the session, Francesco Bagnaia was leading the chase but try as he might, the Sky VR46 rookie couldn’t get within two tenths of his compatriot’s time.

With a matter of seconds remaining, Morbidelli finally came to life to snatch second and on his final lap, the Marc VDS rider looked on target to steal pole position. However, a tenth of a second went begging in the final two corners, causing Franco to miss out by the tiniest of margins. Alex Marquez had followed his team-mate around on the final laps and the slipstream proved crucial as the Spaniard pipped Bagnaia to third.

Brno winner Thomas Luthi will start fifth, a disappointing result for the Swiss rider who had topped free practice, while Fabio Quartararo qualified an impressive sixth for Pons HP 40. Isaac Vinales lines up seventh with Miguel Oliveira leading KTM’s challenge at their home Grand Prix from eighth.

Xavi Vierge completes the third row in ninth, a sensational result for the Tech 3 rider who missed the first half of the session following a heavy crash.


Moto2 NeroGiardini Motorrad Grand Prix von Osterreich: Qualifying

PosRiderConstructorTeamBest Time
154. Mattia PasiniKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:29.394
221. Franco MorbidelliKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:29.395
373. Alex MarquezKalexEG 0,0 Marc VDS1:29.570
442. Francesco BagnaiaKalexSky Racing Team VR461:29.581
512. Thomas LuthiKalexCarXpert Interwetten1:29.696
640. Fabio QuartararoKalexPons HP 401:29.855
732. Isaac VinalesKalexBE-A-VIP SAG Team1:29.868
844. Miguel OliveiraKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:29.998
997. Xavi ViergeTech 3Tech 3 Racing1:30.097
1011. Sandro CorteseSuterDynavolt Intact GP1:30.101
119. Jorge NavarroKalexFederal Oil Gresini Moto21:30.116
1255. Hafizh SyahrinKalexPetronas Raceline Malaysia1:30.148
1330. Takaaki NakagamiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia1:30.175
1477. Dominique AegerterSuterKiefer Racing1:30.247
1524. Simone CorsiSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing1:30.258
167. Lorenzo BaldassarriKalexForward Team1:30.262
1710. Luca MariniKalexForward Team1:30.276
1841. Brad BinderKTMRed Bull KTM Ajo1:30.286
1949. Axel PonsKalexRW Racing GP1:30.294
2027. Iker LecuonaKalexGarage Plus Interwetten1:30.347
2145. Tetsuta NagashimaKalexTeluru SAG Team1:30.363
225. Andrea LocatelliKalexItaltrans Racing Team1:30.585
2357. Edgar PonsKalexPons HP 401:30.591
2419. Xavier SimeonKalexTasca Racing Scuderia Moto21:30.624
2587. Remy GardnerTech 3Tech 3 Racing1:30.738
2662. Stefano ManziKalexSky Racing Team VR461:30.778
2737. Augusto FernandezSpeed UpSpeed Up Racing1:30.960
2820. Joe RobertsKalexAGR Team1:31.092
2952. Danny KentSuterDynavolt Intact GP1:31.293
306. Tarran MackenzieSuterKiefer Racing1:31.807
312. Jesko RaffinKalexCarXpert Interwetten1:31.825
3289. Khairul Idham PawiKalexIdemitsu Honda Team Asia1:31.840