Brookes takes victory in red flagged race two

Photo: Anvil Hire TAG Yamaha

Josh Brookes took victory in race two at Silverstone from James Ellison and Shane Byrne, after the race was cut short by three laps due to oil on track.

Byrne took an early lead with Frenchman Sylvain Guintoli closely following. Guintoli leapt at the chance to lead his first race of the season, but Brookes was creeping up to challenge the front runners. He took the lead and ran with it, to bring home his second race victory of the season. After starting from the back of the grid because of a penalty for changing gearbox ratios, Ellison stormed through the field to to take an impressive second place.

There was disaster on the first lap for Dan Linfoot, Lee Jackson and Taylor Mackenzie. A multiple rider crash brought their race to an abrupt end, with Mackenzie being stretchered off. It was later confirmed that he had broken his foot in two places. Thankfully, both Linfoot and Jackson were okay.

Just one lap later, there was more drama for Leon HaslamMichael Laverty and Silverstone race one winner Glenn Irwin. Laverty was forced to run on as Haslam and Irwin slid into the gravel and managed to rejoin, but the Kawasaki and Ducati riders were not so lucky.

On lap nine, the safety car was brought out due to an incident involving Andy Reid and Martin Jessopp. Jessopp managed to escape unscathed, but Reid later confirmed that he had broken his femur. The safety car stayed out for two laps until it was red flagged on lap eleven, after Shaun Winfield suffered an engine blow up.

Peter Hickman’s eighth place was enough to confirm his place in the Showdown alongside Brookes, Haslam and Byrne. With two places left and four riders fighting for them, the title fight could be anyone’s.

MCE British Superbike race two

1Josh BrookesAnvil Hire TAG Yamaha16:59.718
2James EllisonMcAms Yamaha+0.274
3Shane ByrneBe Wiser Ducati+0.732
4Sylvain GuintoliBennetts Suzuki+1.268
5Jason O'HalloranHonda Racing+1.329
6Bradley RayBuildbase Suzuki+2.338
7Christian IddonTyco BMW Motorrad+2.765
8Peter HickmanSmiths Racing BMW+3.067
9Jake DixonRAF Regular and Reserves Kawasaki+4.977
10John HopkinsMoto Rapido Ducati+7.617
11Tommy BridewellTeam WD-40 Kawasaki+9.224
12Luke MosseyJG Speedfit Kawasaki+10.437
13Jakub SmrzLloyd & Jones PR Racing BMW+10.778
14James WestmorelandGearlink Kawasaki+28.948
15Michael LavertyMcAms Yamaha+31.265
16Dean HarrisonSilicone Engineering Racing Kawasaki+41.445
17Aaron ZanottiPlatform Hire Yamaha+45.465
DNFAndy ReidTyco BMW Motorrad-
DNFMartin BMW-
DNFShaun WinfieldAnvil Hire TAG Yamaha-
DNFGlenn IrwinBe Wiser Ducati7 laps
DNFLeon HaslamJG Speedfit Kawasaki7 laps
DNFLee JacksonSmiths Racing BMW-
DNF Taylor MackenzieBennetts Suzuki-
DNFDan LinfootHonda Racing-
Fastest lap - James Ellison, McAms Yamaha - 2:06.171