Linfoot claims maiden victory in treacherous conditions

by Emily Macbeth

It wasn’t just Misano that saw extremely wet weather. Back in Britain, the heavens opened just in time for the final British Superbike race of the weekend.

In what could only be described as a disaster, Dan Linfoot took a long awaited victory from Michael Laverty and Jake Dixon, who took the final Showdown spot. It would be easier to list who didn’t finish as to who did, with only seven riders crossing the line at the checkered flag.

Before the race even got underway, Leon Haslam was unable to make the start due to a technical problem. On the opening lap, Jason O’Halloran took a tumble, leaving him open to the threat of losing his Showdown place.

Josh Brookes had taken the lead at the front with Shane Byrne and James Ellison closely following behind. A huge moment for Brookes on the second lap saw him run out wide and allow both Byrne and Ellison through. Just one lap later, Ellison crashed out unhurt.

As Brookes fought with Byrne for the lead, he too crashed out leaving Byrne to carve his way through the rainsoaked track. On the sixth lap, Byrne crashed out of the lead which left Linfoot to pick up the leading position. Further back, Christian Iddon had slipped into second as was fighting hard against the conditions to stay on and bring it safely over the line to secure his place in the Showdown. Unfortunately for the Tyco rider, he crashed out on lap eight, bringing his 2017 title hopes to a close.

Iddon’s crash left Michael Laverty in second with Linfoot comfortably leading the way. Jake Dixon had picked up third and crossed the line to secure his Showdown place, with O’Halloran also managing to hold on to his title place thanks to the ever decreasing grid.

The race was eventually red flagged at two thirds race distance (lap ten), leaving only seven riders to cross the line.

The Showdown opener begins at Oulton Park next weekend.

MCE British Superbike race three

1Dan LinfootHonda Racing22:50.725
2Michael LavertyMcAms Yamaha+4.115
3Jake DixonRAF Regular and Reserves Kawasaki+20.423
4James WestmorelandGearlink Kawasaki+1 lap
5Jakub SmrzLloyd & Jones PR Racing BMW+1 lap
6Bradley RayBuildbase Suzuki+1 lap
7Lee JacksonSmiths Racing BMW+ 1 lap
Not Classified
DNFChristian IddonTyco BMW Motorrad2 laps
DNFTommy BridewellTeam WD-40 Kawasaki2 laps
DNFJohn HopkinsMoto Rapido Ducati3 laps
DNFShane ByrneBe Wiser Ducati4 laps
DNFPeter HickmanSmiths Racing BMW4 laps
DNFGlenn IrwinBe Wiser Ducati4 laps
DNFLuke MosseyJG Speedfit Kawasaki4 laps
DNFDean HarrisonSilicone Engineering Racing Kawasaki4 laps
DNFSylvain GuintoliBennetts Suzuki5 laps
DNFJames EllisonMcAms Yamaha7 laps
DNFJosh BrookesAnvil Hire TAG Yamaha7 laps
DNFMartin BMW7 laps
DNFShaun WinfieldAnvil Hire TAG Yamaha7 laps
DNFAaron ZanottiPlatform Hire Yamaha7 laps
DNFJason O'HalloranHonda Racing-
DNSLeon HaslamJG Speedfit KawasakiDNS
Fastest lap - Christian Iddon, Tyco BMW Motorrad - 2:29.128

MCE British Superbike Showdown top six

1Shane ByrneBe Wiser Ducati532 points
2Leon HaslamJG Speedfit Kawasaki526 points
3Josh BrookesAnvil Hire TAG Yamaha522 points
4Jake DixonRAF Regular and Reserves Kawasaki518 points
5Peter HickmanSmiths Racing BMW509 points
6Jason O'HalloranHonda Racing503 points
Showdown points = podium credits + 500.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More