European Rallycross

Marklund Seals 2017 FIA Euro RX Title In Latvia

2 Mins read
2017 FIA European Rallycross Champion Anton Marklund. Credit: IMG / FIA World RX

Anton Marklund succeeded in clinching the 2017 FIA European Rallycross Championship for Supercars at the final round of the year held at the Riga Circuit in Latvia after finishing as Top Qualifier.

The young Swedish driver came into the Euro RX of Latvia with an eighteen point lead of rivals Thomas Bryntesson and 2015 Euro RX Champion Tommy Rustad, however after going quickest in the first three Qualifying sessions Marklund sealed the title at the end of Qualifying although he finished second in Q4 to Tamas Pal Kiss.

Anton Marklund secured the Drivers Championship after being Top Qualifier in Latvia. Credit: IMG / FIA World RX

In the Supercar Final itself, the Marklund Motorsport pilot was on Pole Position with Kiss, whilst Bryntesson and Robin Larsson had qualified on the second row with Tamas Karai and Rustad in the Albatec Racing Peugeot completing the grid.

It was Larsson who made a spectacular getaway off the line, however Marklund was able to hold off the former World RX driver and keep the lead through the first two turns. Further back Kiss managed to hold off Bryntesson and Karai, who was having issues with his door staying shut on the Audi A1, to stay in third place on the run to turn three.

Tamas Pal Kiss fought Robin Larsson for third place during the Supercar Final. Credit:

Rustad elected to take his joker on the first lap whilst up front Marklund built up his lead as Larsson held off Kiss. Bryntesson took his joker on the second lap and came out in the battle between Rustad and Karai whilst Kiss taking his joker on lap three. With a gap back to the Speedbox Racing Peugeot driver, Larsson took his joker on lap four and stayed ahead of Kiss.

Anton Marklund took his joker on lap five to stay in the lead and take victory at the 2017 Euro RX of Latvia ahead of Robin Larsson and Tamas Pal Kiss. Tommy Rustad came home in fourth place with JC Racetenik driver Thomas Bryntesson in fifth and Tamas Karai falling back to sixth place.

Thomas Bryntesson finished second in his first ever Euro RX Campaign. Credit: JC Raceteknik/McKlein

Marklund finished the season as Drivers Champion with Bryntesson in second place. Kiss claimed third place overall whilst Larsson and Rustad completed the top five positions in the championship.

Related posts
British RallycrossEuropean RallycrossFIA World Rallycross

Team RX Racing Unveil New Proton Iriz RX Supercar

2 Mins read
Team RX Racing, along with both Tony Bardy Motorsport and Mellors Elliot Motorsport, will build a Proton Iriz RX Supercar in time for the 2021 season.
European RallycrossFIA World Rallycross

Entries for Spa World RX of Benelux Revealed

2 Mins read
The entry lists for Spa World RX of Benelux and the season finale of Euro RX have been revealed.
European Rallycross

Euro RX: Eriksson Finally Wins in Riga

4 Mins read
Oliver Eriksson won a dramatic FIA European Rallycross Championship round in Latvia.

Leave a Reply