Historic Pole Position for George Russell

Credit: Sam Bloxham/GP3 Media Service

Newly crowned GP3 Series champion George Russell will start from pole position for the Yas Marina Feature Race tomorrow.

This also means the Briton’s ART Grand Prix squad have claimed a clean sweep of the qualifying sessions this year.

Much of the session was lead by Macau Grand Prix winner Daniel Ticktum but the Brit was ultimately pushed down the order by Arden International pair Leonardo Pulcini and fellow Red Bull Junior Niko Kari.

In the final minutes the top spot rapidly changed hands as Jenzer Motorsport‘s Arjun Maini and then Pulcini deposed Ticktum.

High off of his Formula 1 outing just before the session, Russell then claimed the top spot with three minutes remaining as Ticktum put in an effort that placed him just 0.008 seconds behind the Mercedes junior.

While Russell was able to keep extending his advantage out front, Ticktum faded in the final sector and ended up being pipped by Kari and Pulcini who had bettered Russell’s previous best before the champion went quicker once again.

Maini finished fifth ahead of Nirei Fukuzumi, who has seized the opportunity to claim second in the championship standings from Jack Aitken as his team-mate could only muster fifteenth on the grid.

Dorian Boccolacci was seventh, ahead of Raoul Hyman and Anthoine Hubert with Alessio Lorandi completing the top ten.

The Feature Race gets underway at 12.25 local time tomorrow.

2017 GP3 Series Qualifying Results – Yas Marina

13George RussellGBRART Grand Prix1m54.751
26Leonardo PulciniITAArden International1m55.073
35Niko Kari FINArden International1m55.157
414Daniel Ticktum GBRDAMS 1m55.289
524Arjun Maini INDJenzer1m55.466
62Nirei Fukuzumi JPNART Grand Prix1m55.484
712Dorian Boccolacci FRATrident1m55.533
827Raoul Hyman RSACampos Racing1m55.583
94Anthoine HubertFRAART Grand Prix1m55.594
1022Alessio LorandiITAJenzer Motorsport1m55.605
117Steijn Schothorst NEDArden International1m55.610
1211Ryan TveterUSATrident 1m55.684
1315Tatiana Calderon COLDAMS1m55.772
149Kevin JörgSUITrident1m55.774
151Jack Aitken GBRART Grand Prix1m55.823
1610Giuliano AlesiFRATrident1m55.909
1716Bruno BaptistaBRADAMS 1m56.088
1828Marcos Siebert ARGCampos Racing1m56.485
1923Juan Manuel CorreaITACampos Racing 1m56.597
2026Julien FalcheroFRAJenzer Motorsport 1m57.015