European Rallycross

Marklund Leads Day One of 2018 Euro RX of Spain

1 Mins read
Anton Marklund. Credit: Dave Smeets

The start of the 2018 FIA European Rallycross Championship for Supercars has gotten off to a murky start in Spain with the drivers and teams of Euro RX facing some very difficult conditions.

However its 2017 FIA European Rallycross Supercar Champion Anton Marklund who leads the way after the first day of action. The Swedish driver was fastest in Q1 and second fastest in Q2.

Former World RX Race winner Nitiss lies in third place overnight. Credit: SET Promotion

Former Super1600 driver Ulrik Linnemann lies in second place overnight in his Volkswagen Polo Supercar whilst former FIA World Rallycross race winner Reinis Nitiss completes the top three.

The JC Raceteknik pair of Ola Froshaug and Thomas Bryntesson complete the top five in their Ford Fiesta Supercars ahead of the Eklund Motorsport Volkswagen Beetle of Philip Gehrman, who has stepped up from the FIA European Rallycross Touring Car Championship for this year.

Thomas Bryntesson lies inside the top five after the first Euro RX qualifying sessions. Credit: JC Raceteknik

French driver Florent Beduneau has put his Peugeot 208 WRX Supercar in seventh place overnight whilst Peter Hedstrom has taken his Hedstrom Motorsport Volkswagen Polo to eighth place.

Hungarian driver and Euro RX regular Tamas Karai lies in ninth place overall in his Audi S1. RallyX Nordic Series regular Lukas Walfridson has qualified his iconic Renault Clio Mk3 in tenth place after improving his time in Q2.

Derek Tohill survived the difficult conditions to go eleventh fastest overall on Saturday in Spain. Credit: PFCRX

Completing the top twelve places on the first day of Euro RX action in Spain are former FIA European Rallycross Touring Car Champion Derek Tohill in his Ford Fiesta whilst Kjetil Larsen has taken his ex Marklund Motorsport Polo to twelfth place.

In the 2018 FIA European Rallycross Championship for Super1600, Artis Baumanis mastered the difficult conditions to go fastest after the first three Qualifying sessions in his Volland Racing Skoda Fabia ahead of Espen Isaksaetre and Gergely Marton.

Related posts
European Rallycross

Euro RX: Eriksson Finally Wins in Riga

4 Mins read
Oliver Eriksson won a dramatic FIA European Rallycross Championship round in Latvia.
European Rallycross

Euro RX: Evjen is Top Qualifier After Riga Day One

3 Mins read
Norway’s Sondre Evjen tops the overnight intermediate results after the first day of the FIA European Rallycross Championship in Latvia.
European RallycrossProjekt E

PREVIEW: 2020 Euro RX / Projekt E of Latvia - Rallycross Returns to the Beloved Forest Park

5 Mins read
Everything you need to know to get up to speed ahead of the second round of the 2020 FIA European Rallycross and Projekt E series’ this weekend.

Leave a Reply